2014 – One Word

20140101-145859.jpg

My word for 2014 is resolute! It means very determined: having or showing a lot of determination. Synonyms are faithful, bound, purposeful, resolved, set, and single-minded. Antonyms are faltering, hesitant, indecisive, week-kneed and vacillating.

For the past few years, I have chosen a word for the year. These words have played out in different ways over the course of a year, but focusing on a word has helped me say yes to some things and no to others. This year there are a few things that I aim to be resolute about but the main thing is my relationship with Christ. I have seen the difference in my life, marriage, family, etc. when I spend quality time with The Lord, preferably in the morning. Being that I have seen the positives and negatives that come from my spending or not spending time in His Word, I know that this must be what I am single-minded about for 2014.

If you have chosen a word for 2014, I’d love to hear it.

5 thoughts on “2014 – One Word”

  1. Surrender
    I have never chosen a word for the new year before, but this is what God gave me during a bit of worship time today…surrender all to Him.
    God bless you, friend.

  2. resolute – what a great word!
    not surprisingly, my word for 2014 is prepare
    there are things for us to prepare, there are things He has already prepared, and there are things He will yet prepare for and in us

Comments are closed.