Cold Weather Workout Blues

20131025-114827.jpg
Since kids and homeschooling, I have always struggled with consistently working out. I’ll admit, I have some good genes but as I have gotten older, I have realized that it is important for health reasons not just aesthetic reasons. Over the summer, I was on a nice routine, rising early (mornings are dreaded by me), working out on the treadmill and using this 7 app. While working out, I would listen to Dr. Tony Evans on One Place. Things were good. September came and things were still good. I felt better prepared for my day as I had been “filled” during my workout. Next thing you know, fall comes and I fell off the wagon.

The morning darkness, the colder temperatures, the comfiness of my bed have all combined to be an insurmountable obstacle. The treadmill, my 7 app, and Dr. Tony Evans have been dropped like hot potatoes. And the result, has not been pretty – I have picked up a few pounds, I am not as patient during school and I feel as though things are off kilter. I need to right this ship quickly! The sad thing is knowing it and doing it are two very different things.

So, I ask of those that are committed to working out and live in climates where the morning chill makes you want to dive deeper into the blankets, how do you find the motivation to get up and get going?

I know the workouts don’t have to happen in the morning but quite frankly, once I am up, there is no workout time in the rest of my day and plus the workout time serves a dual purpose – physically and spiritually.

Thanks for any tips!

