A New Year

20120106-105723.jpg

Happy New Year!! I hope that in this new year, you will find the courage to follow your dreams!

Our new year was quiet as hubby was preparing for Sunday service, I watched Sweet Home Alabama for the gazillionth time and then turned to see the ball drop in Times Square. The kids had long since headed to bed despite chatter about wanting to stay awake. :).

A new year just like every new day brings opportunity to reevaluate our life. What should we keep, toss, change, modify, etc? I am not one for making resolutions because the truth is real change takes time and conscious effort to break old habits and replace them with new ones. Through prayer, I would say that I am pretty aware of those areas in my life where I am still in need of change and I am thankful for those areas where I can see obvious growth. However, I was moved by my friend Amanda, to not create a resolution but a word in which to define this year.

My word for this year is i-n-t-e-n-t-i-o-n-a-l.

I am convinced that we were not made to just go through life but to be active participants in it and living it to the fullest. So, YES, I want to be more deliberate, conscious, and purposeful in everything everyday. That means being more intentional in:

1. My relationship with Christ, my quiet time and my prayer life.
2. My relationship with my husband – loving and honoring him in a way that is pleasing in God’s sight. So, that means I must let go of my quick wit sarcasm and some other less desirable qualities.
3. My relationship with my children – being a mother is an absolute joy but there are trying times as well. Couple the trying times with homeschooling and some days are a train wreck waiting to happen. We need to work through our train wrecks better and I need to balance my expectations of and from them. Also, I want to spend time doing more fun stuff because they grow up quickly.
4. My relationship with myself – yes, moi. I need to love me a bit more in 2012 and berate myself less. No, I am not perfect but my perfectionist nature will not continue to keep a running list of the areas in which I fall short. :). Also, I know that I need more balance – wife, mother, daughter, homeschool teacher, cook, chauffeur, pastor’s wife, women’s group leader, teen group leader, and girl that must get it done when no one else steps up to the plate doesn’t allow for me to breathe and follow the dreams placed in my heart. So, I must carve out some me time. As selfish as it may sound, it is necessary for my sanity and well-being.

What this will look like on a daily basis will vary but the key is I will be living life instead of just existing though life.

Peace and Blessings!

One thought on “A New Year”

Comments are closed.