Blog Friendships, Jewelry, and a Giveaway

If someone could develop a tool, program, machine that can take our ideas out of our heads and actually make them happen, I would make them rich.  😉  Seriously, I am an idea generator!!  Give me just a few minutes and I can come up with tons of good thoughts about many different topics which in turn makes my to-do lists long and often unfinished.  One day, my talent will come in handy, but until then……

I have spent way too much time this morning trying to unsuccessfully update to iTunes 10.5 in order to update my iPad to the new IOS 5 operating system.  Yes, I sound highly technically but let’s be serious, we download the file, click install and basically watch the status bar with the expectation that everything will work when we are finished. Based on this article, I am not alone in my frustration.  That is the funny thing about technology, we are so used to it that we want it to work and work all the time and when it doesn’t, we can get in a tizzy.  Now that I have vented, let’s move on, shall we?

I have been blogging since February of 2007.  It started as a dare between me and my friend Cheryl.  She wanted to but wouldn’t, I had no idea of what it was but have a tendency to jump first before asking.  I started out as Southern Girl Musings.  Back then, I had a blogroll of my bloggy friends and one of them was Dawn of 5 Kids and a Dog but now of The Momma Knows.  Like myself, she also homeschooled and was so kind to send us her laminated Math-U-See decimal street and clock.  We have stayed bloggy friends even through my several blog hiatus or hiatuses.  We both turned 40 this year, me in August and her just last Saturday so to commemorate her new blog home, I in my Farmstead Lady Designs hat have sponsored a $40 gift certificate giveaway on her blog.  Yep, I tried to slide in there the re-opening of my shop.  😉

Thankfully, the gift certificate is good for 1 year as I have only a few items in the shop as of today.  B-U-T, I have lots more coming.  You can see a few of the items on the sidebar to the left, yes, I had to figure out how to add a widget again.  Being that I don’t blog for money, gifts, prizes, reviews, giveaways, I try to keep it simple but every now and then, I do have to re-learn some things.

One of my creative goals is to push myself and get the ideas of out my head and turn them into reality.  After I stopped drinking coffee, I truly realized that I am a more balanced person when I can create things.  Whether it is a new fall wreath for the door, a pair of earrings, or new lounge pants, I need that time with me to keep me balanced.  As a wife, mom, homeschooler, Pastor’s wife, daughter, friend, listening ear, gardener, canner, wannabe chef, chicken herder, chauffeur, fill in the rest of the blanks, I n-e-e-d some time for me.  Do you take time for you to enjoy whatever it is that brings you joy?

Make sure to run over for the giveaway, because as of right now, there are no entries, so your chances of winning are high!  😉

leaves necklace 2

2 thoughts on “Blog Friendships, Jewelry, and a Giveaway”

  1. Kiva, I LOVE that you take time for YOU! You are wonderfully creative and I drool over the things in your shop. I’m so glad You decided to re-open and sponsor a prize! You are a blessing to me!

  2. Too many ideas and too little time… I am all too familiar with this concept! LOL I finally quit my weekend job though, to give myself at least that much more time to dedicate towards selling my stuff on Etsy and at craft fairs.

Comments are closed.