Week 1 – No Coffee

A photo of a cup of coffee.
Image via Wikipedia

If you know me or follow me on twitter or read this blog, you know that I love coffee!!!!  I mean L-O-V-E coffee.  I love the taste of it, the smell of it, I just love coffee.  When I was a little girl, I used to finish off the bottom of my Pop-Pop’s cup and of course at the time, I was really drinking sugar with coffee added but hey he was the apple of my little eyes and I wanted whatever was a part of him.

As I grew up, I stopped having coffee made *light and sweet* as he had, and went to just a splash of cream but still heavy on the sugar.  That evolved into no cream but still heavy on the sugar.  For the last several years, I have finally decreased the amount of sugar because you know that much of any good thing isn’t good for you!  Plus, I figured, I was sweet enough!  😉

So you are probably wondering then why does the title say no coffee……because for the last week, I have given up coffee.  I have not had not one single solitary cup of java in a week.

Guess what?

I haven’t gone insane, my hair has not been pulled out nor is it standing on end, I have been fine.

You see, my tummy was going through some issues and I couldn’t put my finger on the root cause of the problem.  When it first happened about a month ago, I chalked it up to something I ate that didn’t agree with me.  That episode lasted about a week.  This latest episode was heading towards a week when after much prayer, I was led to stop drinking coffee.  Now, if I wasn’t having tummy issues, my brain would have ignored that message.  But when I sat and looked back over what liquids I took in during the course of a day, I drank more coffee than anything else.  It was my go-to drink.  A few cups in the morning and if I felt like I needed a late afternoon pick-me-up it was nothing to brew some more or make a beeline to Wawa.

I have been drinking tea in the morning now and I am sure that has helped with any caffeine withdrawal symptoms.  My tummy is feeling much better and believe it or not, I feel better.  I feel like I was using coffee as my crutch to wake-up, perk up and just plain exist but now I don’t need it.

I am not sure if this is a forever thing but I know it is the best thing for me right now.

2 thoughts on “Week 1 – No Coffee”

  1. Ohh Kiva look out! I was hooked on TEA and gave it up cold turkey in January. ( I actually did a 30 day fast from all drinks but water.) I was drinking around five 16-oz mugs of tea a day and yes, brewed strong with all the caffeine included. I went through ten days of horrible headaches and sluggishness and after that, it was fine. These days I might drink one or two a day, but I switched to Good Earth herbal tea, or peppermint (no actual tea). I feel much better now, and I’m not drinking soda either. I never did go back to that after the fast. Found that it doesn’t make me feel very well and that I don’t like cola any more. (Go figure!) Congrats on giving up coffee, but look out that you’re not just transferring your caffeine intake to tea. 😉

    1. Dawn, thanks for that tip. I should have added that I mean hot tea, only 1 cup in the morning of regular tea and if I have a cup at night it is herbal. Can totally relate to the fast as I did that for Lent one year with Pepsi (another addictive drink for me) and after the fast, I wasn’t able to drink it anymore. 🙂

Comments are closed.