One Week Later

So, I have been 40 for 1 week now and the brain couldn’t think of a catchier blog title.   My birthday started with hubby and the kids singing to me at 5:30 a.m. and as I groggily listened they gave me my present.  I had to fumble for my glasses as my husband is parsimonious and that is actually one of the reasons I love him dearly so needless to say, I was more than a little surprised.  The kids and I set it up and stayed in my bed and in our pj’s until about 8ish.  We have downloaded lots of fun apps and would love to hear which ones you like for educational purposes for a 4th and 3rd grader.  They absolutely love Stack the States!!

The rest of my day was spent with the kids and my parents as we did a little shopping and eating.  The rest of the week was fun and I must admit that I was more than a bit lazy by taking full advantage of birthday week perks.  A friend treated me to a pedi/mani on Saturday and it was relaxing and enjoyable to just sit back but I kept thinking that the lady was extremely s-l-o-w.  Every time, I thought of how s-l-o-w she was, I kept having this nagging thought that hubby was trying to plan me a party.  But, you see, he is not big on parties and every time I pressed him about it, he had very logical explanations.  You see, about 2 months ago, my cell phone had a childhood friend’s number on the screen as if someone went through my contacts but didn’t exit completely.  I found the email address of this same friend on a piece of mail.  His explanation for contacting her wasn’t that plausible but passable enough.  My girlfriend had to return shoes after the pedi/mani and she was very slow in doing that and then we had to pick up a friend of hers that was in the opposite direction from my house.  I called my parents and they weren’t home during this time which also led me to be suspicious.  Long story short, he did throw me a surprise party on Saturday and while I had my suspicions none were ever confirmed so I was surprised.  Good thing, I went to the nail salon in a cute dress.  😉

It was a very nice affair with lots of family and friends.  If you knew my husband, you would know that this isn’t in his make-up but I am so thankful that he pushed beyond to as he put it “show me how much he loves me.”  God, I love that man!!!!

We started our new homeschooling year yesterday.  Things went well and looking forward to some new things – new piano teacher and new speech/debate club.  The kids were excited as well.  They had laid out their clothes the night before and packed their backbags.  They walked out the back door and spent some time outside before coming back in – they wanted to feel like they walked to school.  Too funny!  🙂

On paper, the schedule looks good but I know that there will be days when I feel like,

http://www.flickr.com/photos/amandajean/5685050860/

I think that is sooooo cute!

Learning is a lifetime adventure, so we will keep learning and laughing and sometimes crying along the way.

Our July was miserably hot and August has been so full of rain, I thought I was going to have to pull out Noah’s ark building instructions.  As a result, my garden looks a hot mess!!!!  Corn and sunflowers easily 7 feet tall and growing and the weeds are not that far behind them.  I need to tackle that as well and sprinkle a few fall crop seeds as my planting window is closing quickly.  I have been putting up food but I have not canned as much this year as in year’s past.  Not sure of why – lack of time, long string of 100 degree days – may have something to do with it but hey, who knows?

Need to gather up library books and get ready for lunch.  Don’t forget to share your fave apps for the kids and some for mommy. 🙂

One thought on “One Week Later”

  1. “Parsimonious”. That’s a great word!!

    My husband is all about the budget, which is, as well, one of the reasons I love him so. However, it can get a little wearing, having every single transaction scrutinized. Last week, though, he stopped on the way home from work and bought everyone a very thoughtful little gift “just because.” A bar of organic Green & Black dark chocolate for me, some ear buds for my oldest son, a hat for my middle son, a tee for my youngest son, a princess bowl for my 5yo daughter, and a Mickey Mouse-shaped plate for my 2yo. Each gift only cost between $1-5 (except maybe the ear buds), but there were such squeals of delight and surprise, and I treasured it all in my heart because I KNEW he did it just to remind us of how he loves us so.

    A good husband is a blessing!!!

Comments are closed.