Scheduling and Homeschooling

It is that time of the year again when I find myself up to my eyeballs in books, paper, HST+, and more as I try to figure out our upcoming homeschool schedule. I must admit that I did drink the homeschool kool-aid and believed that we could blow through all work by 12 noon and have the rest of the day for leisure. 🙂 Making sure my little cherubs are bursting at the seams with information takes more than a few hours. Especially when you add in piano, chores and runs to the library.

We follow the classical approach as prescribed by Susan Wise Bauer in The Well-Trained Mind. When you factor in 2 hours a day for language arts, 45-60 min for math, another 1 hour for Latin and vocabulary roots, lunch, and then history and science 2 – 3 times a week, noon has long passed us by. Oops, forgot art, music and once a month book club. Oh, and Bible and free reading. Before you think, I am complaining, I am not. I understood that taking over the responsibility for our children’s education should not be taken lightly nor should one go into thinking everyday will be a walk in the park. You can’t blame the teachers, the school system, the lack of books, too many kids in the classroom or anything else because it is on you (I mean me).

This year, I am going to do time blocks for our subject areas instead of my normal anal retentive planning down to the minute as I try to split myself between 2 children. I think this will work out better especially since the Princess has shown that she can go through some of her work without my help. Plus, that has saved us a both a few arguments, I mean fruitful learning discussions. We are changing some of our resources this year, so I am plowing through them to develop workable lessons plans and I must admit, I am excited. I do however wish that someone could plan out my schedule for me and input all of my lesson plans into HST+. 😉

How is your homeschool planning coming along?

4 thoughts on “Scheduling and Homeschooling”

  1. Hey Kiva!
    I’ve got lots of work to do, sorting through materials, trying to become familiar with lessons, still have a few more things to order, etc. I’m trying to figure out how I’ll coordinate subjects, who can do what while the other children are doing something else. . .and to make things exciting, we have a little bundle on the way,(due in Dec.)!
    At any rate, we’re still excited and encouraged. I received my welcome letter from the county today–so I guess it’s official! Thanks for all of your encouragement. Great post!!

    1. Stacie,

      Congratulations to you and hubby!! God doesn’t give us more than we can handle so I am sure He will see you and the family through and He has already kept y’all excited and encouraged. Let me know if you need anything and know that I am here if you want to bounce off any ideas.

  2. Kiva! I’m so glad to see your’e blogging again. 🙂 I’m not up to the point of planning YET because I’m still buying our things for this coming year. I tend to schedule in blocks too, just because it gives us leeway as far as timing things. There are some great posts about planners and planning on my blog, on Classic Housewife, and on Three Thinking Mothers. We all did linky posts on Monday about it (separately!) Lots of great stuff to go through! 🙂

    1. Dawn, thanks for the tips and I’ll have to check them out. I am trying to be more regular, we shall see. 🙂 Thanks for the encouragement!

Comments are closed.