Meet my new girls

Lots has been happening now that the weather has started to break. After so much snow this winter, it has been great to see the grass again. πŸ™‚ I have been wanting to be a chicken girl for some time now but everything in moderation as I also want bees, more fruit trees, and a host of other things. My hubby is quite fascinated by all of this being that before we moved into this house, I rarely did anything outside.

So, here are pics of the wonderful coop that my Darling Daddy built and my new girls…

coop #1

coop #2

coop #3

egg collecting door #1

second egg collecting door

girls #1

16 thoughts on “Meet my new girls”

  1. And to think I thought the whole “farmstead girl” thing was figurative. My mom grew up on a working farm, but I wouldn’t have a clue what to do with a chicken coop…Are eggs only in your plans or cooking the chickens, too? Either way it will be a great learning experience for you and the kids.
    .-= KayEm17Β΄s last blog ..Respect is a Key Ingredient in Marriage =-.

    1. Ha ha…yes it is a bit more than figurative. πŸ˜‰ At this point, we are loving the eggs, which are 4-5 a day and we already have a customer list. I have threatened 2 of them with the pot or the freezer because of bad attitudes but they seemed to have gotten the message. I already resolved that I am not above the whole eating thing even though hubby says he doesn’t eat pets.

      The kids are absolutely loving the whole experience and of course my son wants to get a rooster and start hatching some eggs….boys!

    1. Thanks so much!! Funny thing is we are already looking at converting a DIY shed because I already want more chickens. πŸ™‚

  2. OOOOh! Can’t wait to meet the girls. Can I use the green eggs and ham joke yet???
    Very excited for you all, and especially the kids–what great learning experiences!

  3. Nice! I would love to have about 5-10 acres so we could have chickens, and angora goats, and fruit trees! Your girls are cute. We have to settle for farm fresh eggs from my friend’s son’s chickens for now. He’s 14 and has himself quite an egg business going. I’m happy to buy them from him! πŸ™‚ Enjoy!!
    .-= DawnΒ΄s last blog ..Ensnared by Words =-.

    1. Dawn – I think that is wonderful for your friend’s son. There is a definite market for farm fresh eggs. I too want more fruit trees and bees….baby steps is what I keep telling myself. πŸ™‚

    1. Don’t be…I’ll trade you a few chickens/eggs for your quilting skills. πŸ™‚ Miss ya!

    1. They are quite entertaining to say the least. πŸ™‚ There are some definite breeds that I want next year so I hope to build a brooder so that I can place an order from a hatchery to get the mix that I am looking for…not all are able to be found locally. Best of luck with your plans, you will enjoy them!

  4. I may not be a farmer πŸ™‚ but I like the lifestyle, and I do sense a kindred spirit in you in many other ways. I found you on flickr; I think I’ll add you to the sidebar of one or both of my blogs.

    Yay for your new girls!

    1. Thanks so much for stopping by and it is always nice to meet another Christ loving, crafty homeschooling mama. πŸ™‚

  5. oooh…i want to be jealous…but i’m so happy for you i can’t be…i’ll just fuss harder at my hubby for not letting me get some. me and the kids have been begging him for chickens for months now. please, please share your experiences with us so i can live vicariously through you…and maybe have some ammunition to sway my hubby! that is an awesome coop there to…

    enjoy and have fun! i think this season i’ll just focus on adding fruit trees, and new beds: herbs, raised veggie and a wildflower patch.
    .-= kiandraΒ΄s last blog ..hello tooth fairy… =-.

    1. thanks….I had been thinking and talking about it for some time and just did it. I already am drawing up plans for a bigger coop because I want more chickens – they can be addictive and the fresh eggs – OMG! πŸ™‚ I too have to think in phases as I want bees, more fruit trees, and now goats for milk/cheese/and soap making…hubby just shakes his head. Thank goodness he grew up on a farm and is giving me some leeway. I will definitely share and hopefully your hubby will come around. πŸ˜‰

Comments are closed.