Cookies, Scones and a Tree

Last night was my annual cookie swap. I missed last year due to hubby having kidney stones while away on a business trip. I was pretty excited about the swap and just gal-pal time which there seems to never be enough of lately. As usual, I couldn’t figure out what cookie I wanted to make and went back and forth and back and forth because I wanted to do something different. Not always a good thing….

I started off with some chocolate meringue snow capped mountain cookies. Mine never received their snow but they lacked the *wow* factor I was seeking as you can see from the before and after pictures below.

meringue 2

meringue3

On to recipe #2 – lemon bar flutes with a lemon drizzle. These seemed like a winner until the cookie press and I had a nasty fight and broke up. It was sad, but cookies are also due next week for the AWANA Christmas party so we may have to make up by then….maybe. I rolled out the remaining dough and cut flowers because I needed to think happy thoughts. What they lack in presentation, they more than make-up for in taste – these babies are yummy!!!!

lemon bars

lemon bar 2

Even after all of last night’s festivities, I awoke this morning still desiring something tasty and decided to make Gesine’s cream scones from her book. They were delicious, my mom even wanted the recipe.

cream scones

And, because the Professor keeps talking about the tree, here is not the best pic of it.

tree

Hope you are enjoying this Christmas season!!

2 thoughts on “Cookies, Scones and a Tree”

  1. Those cream scones look incredible. I think I just found a book for my Christmas wish-list. Thanks! And LOL, you handled that cookie press better than I did. Every time I tried to use my Pampered Chef cookie press the end would bust out and cookie dough would fly everywhere. Grrr. I gave up finally. It was an ill-fated romance.
    .-= Daisy´s last blog ..My Alarm Clock =-.

  2. I licked my screen to taste your lemon bar flutes!!! man I am off to find that recipe…..i have butter and meyer lemons…i can make them…..and i have a cookie press to fight with! those ridges you have make me think I hope they come out messy so I can keep and eat them all without giving them away!!! thanks for more inspiration!
    .-= michelle´s last blog ..Food as Art =-.

Comments are closed.