Mrs. Ruth's Cake

yummy pound cake

A few weeks ago was our church anniversary and this sweet woman Sister Ruth has been coming for a few months now and she told me that she wanted to make a cake. I accepted her offer because that meant 1 less thing that I had to do, but I must be honest, I am always skeptical of other people’s food. Whew, got that off my chest. This skepticism runs back to childhood when I would tell my mom not to put certain people’s dishes on my plate after afternoon church service. I’m not snobby, I just don’t like everyone’s cooking. 😉

So, back to the church anniversary. Sister Ruth dropped the cake getting out of the car (don’t ask) so part of it was a bit deformed, but since I was slicing it up, it didn’t matter. During the slicing, I happened to taste a part that fell off and oh imagine my surprise – moist, delicate, buttery and gooooooood!!!! In the midst of the festivities, I eyed that there were only a few slices of her cake left, so I did what anyone with a brain would do…I grabbed the foil paper and snagged me a few pieces. That’s right, I did and then I went even further by taking them to my car for safe keeping.

Sister Ruth had already left before my crazed antics, so the next week, I had to ask her for her recipe. LIke most good cooks – she just rattled it off. I have been given permission to share, so here it is…

Ingredients:

3 sticks of butter (unsalted of course)
3 cups sugar
3 cups flour
6 eggs
1 cup milk
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 tsp almond or lemon extract

Cream butter and sugar until fluffy, add eggs 1 at a time and mix well after each addition. Alternate adding the flour and milk being sure to end with milk. Bake at 350 degrees until tested for doneness. (Note: Being a pound cake, don’t judge by color). Remove from pan, let cool, and dust with confectioner’s sugar. Enjoy!!

8 thoughts on “Mrs. Ruth's Cake”

  1. Don’t you just love it when people can just rattle off a recipe? It looks SO good! Now I’ll have to make one in addition to the sweet potato pie that’s on my list of things to bake this week. Thank Sister Ruth for sharing with us. I’ll send a report once I make it.

  2. Three sticks of butter?! No wonder it was good!! 😀 It sounds awesome. I wonder how it would turn out with gluten-free flour….I’m afraid of trying it and messing it up. ha
    .-= Tara Wagner´s last blog ..Twenty-eight =-.

  3. That is almost exactly my great-grandmother’s recipe! She used 2 sticks of butter instead of 3, and cream instead of milk. Put it in a cold oven and turn it on to 350. It takes as long as 90 minutes. I was named for her and have always felt a close connection even though she died many years before I was born.

    I make the cake several times a year for special occasions and replace the extracts with lemon juice and finely chopped lemon zest. Wonderful!

  4. OK Kiva “Stewart” try this change and let me know how you like it. People knock down doors to get my pound cake 🙂
    Same type of recipe just slightly different.
    Salted butter
    8 oz of sour cream
    1 tsp rum extract
    1 tsp coconut extract
    1/4 tsp baking soda
    Bake 320 degrees for about 1 1/4 hours
    I’m sure you know how to mix what and when.
    Try it and let me know

Comments are closed.