This and That

Wow, except for those quick sale posts, I have been neglecting my wonderful readers. 🙂

We have had lots of stuff going on around here so it’s not like I don’t have blog posts it’s just a matter of actually sitting down to write them out. So, without further ado….

Groundhogs are often pests in my garden every year. Some have been trapped and some have met their demise by other means. Unfortunately, one did meet his maker and my son loved watching the buzzards circle in the sky at the smell of death. This one landed on the play house to see if the coast was clear for some snacking.

waiting buzzard

Since we are homeschoolers, of course it turned into a mini science lesson. Hubby decided to move the groundhog further out into the woods so the total carnage wasn’t seen. I was pretty bummed. 😉

My sister-in-law makes me bread pudding at times and I have never been a true fan of bread pudding until I tasted hers. I had some leftover rolls and challah bread and said hmmm…..why not make your own. I used a combo of recipes from Joy of Cooking and I think I am becoming a fan of bread pudding.

bread pudding

I had an abundance of hot peppers – cayennes, jalapenos, fish, Chinese 5 color – and I had apples. So, in a moment of brilliance, I just knew there had to be a way to combine the two into a jelly/preserve/jam kinda like jalapeno jelly. Google to the rescue and a cute little site called Pepper Fool. I used this recipe for Hot Pepper and Apple Preserves. I added one package of liquid pectin and I did water bath can for 10 minutes just to be safe. It is quite tasty and can’t wait to serve it with cream cheese and crackers.

hot pepper and apple preserves 2

There’s more to come but I thought I would share those items for now. Hope you are having a great day!

3 thoughts on “This and That”

Comments are closed.