Concrete vs. Fluid

concrete

Photo courtesy: Wikimedia Commons

I have always thought of myself as a pretty fluid person, easy going and not wanting to have concrete schedules, timelines and the like. Amazingly, as I grow older, I seem to have a need for more concrete moments.

Right now, my life is feeling a bit topsy-turvy as my mother-in-law has suffered a heart attack and is in the hospital. Hubby and I were awakened on Saturday morning at 2:48 a.m. by one of his brothers and it has been a fluid situation since then to say the least. My parents met us and we off-loaded the kids and headed to North Carolina. Hubby has a large family (7 siblings) so there were lots of us at the hospital waiting room. We stayed the night and arose at 4 a.m. to head back for church. Some of you may wonder why, but hubby really felt that the Lord wanted him to continue with service so we did and it was an awesome service. We tried to rest on the remainder of Sunday to little avail and hubby then left on Monday morning at 5 a.m. to take his dad to a doctor’s appointment and then to the hospital.

While he was away, I tried to keep things normal for the kids in terms of homeschooling and the like while waiting for his update calls regarding his mom’s condition. Thank God for cell phones, because now we can leave our homes and not miss important calls.

I feel like I am in a state of flux as we approach the holiday season. Tradition has been Thanksgiving in North Carolina with the kids playing outside, most of the men playing golf, women cooking and a bunch of people in a small house trying to save seats and enjoy each other’s company. At this point, no one is to say if that tradition will be able to be carried out this year. For Christmas, we alternate homes and this year it is scheduled to be at our home and being my typical type-A self, I have already started making plans, don’t know if we need to continue with those or not.

The reality is that my hubby’s parents have been pretty self-sufficient living on their own in NC at the ages of 88 and 91 but that may seriously be changing as I type being that his dad has had some fainting spells and shows early signs of dementia. His mom is still on a ventilator in the hospital and we are awaiting word as to whether she has just had a heart attack or was there a stroke involved due to limited movement on her left side. Things that were pretty much givens are no longer and if I am honest, I don’t know if he and his siblings are ready for those talks.

It’s weird as an in-law (some might say out-law) because it is your family but it’s not your family, kwim? You guard what you saw and to an extent what you think or at least I do.

Before I start to feel like I am rambling, I will just end with – in all of this fluidity, I am thankful for Jesus being my rock.

3 thoughts on “Concrete vs. Fluid”

  1. I’m so sorry to hear about your MIL! I love your concrete vs. fluid imagery. My life has been in a bit of upheaval for the last month. When you’re a concrete kind of person like me – changing to a more fluid life is not easy.
    .-= Melinda´s last blog ..Barbecued Pork =-.

  2. What will be, will be, for everything happens for a reason. Sometimes we love the reasons, other times we are not as fond. But we cannot question the Man with the “Master Plan”, just have faith and know that He knows best.

  3. So sorry to hear about your MIL. My mother survived a heart attack at age 59 several years ago, I know what you’re going through. Everything stops, but nothing can stay stopped for long. It is a difficult time. Thoughts and prayers….
    .-= JodyM´s last blog ..The Garage Demise, part 7 =-.

Comments are closed.