For the love of parsnips

The cat is out the bag…I love parsnips. Some of you may be saying…huh? What is a parsnip and what is she talking about….well, a parsnip is a root vegetable that is in the carrot family. I liken them to a white carrot and most people say “oh, I have seen that in the store.” Well, this is how a turnip really looks fresh out of the ground.

final harvest haul

Yeah, that brown stuff is dirt, I told ya it was a root vegetable. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Don’t let the dirt scare you, these are from my garden. In the grocery store, they will be free of dirt. First step is to chop off their tops and get to cleaning them.

removing the tops

the parsnip

They are still pretty gnarly aren’t they? Just remove their extras and peel and chop. I rinse them once or twice because you want to make sure you don’t have any dirt.

all cut up

Melt some butter and toss in 1 large onion (white) roughly chopped. I love the smell of onions and butter.

onions and butter

I am pretty terrible about measuring things so just flow with me….after the onions have started to soften (about 5-7 minutes on medium high heat), add some flour (about 2-3 tablespoons) to make a light roux. You will need to add in about a cup of chicken/vegetable stock.

light roux

Once you have a nice thickness, add in the parsnips and about 1 1/2 to 2 quarts of stock. Cook on medium heat until the parsnips are softened approximately 25 minutes. Transfer in batches to the blender and puree until smooth. Return to pot, add 1/2 cup to 1 cup of heavy cream and season to taste with salt, white pepper, 2 pinches of nutmeg and if you like some color in the sea of tan, add in some parsley.

after puree

Because I wanted you to get the full experience, I put it in a bowl….

Cream of Parsnip Soup

but the truth is, it is headed to the freezer to make me happy on a cold day that is sure to come. ๐Ÿ™‚

heading to the freezer

2 thoughts on “For the love of parsnips”

  1. I bought parsnips for a winter vegetable medley recipe. The parsnips were covered in WAX. Oh, to have your fresh home-grown parsnips. They look so delicious in their natural state.

Comments are closed.