Fruit Leather/Fruit Roll-Up

My kids received a fruit roll-up in an Easter basket a few years back. They liked it but it’s not a snack that they beg for me to buy, so I haven’t. I was faced with a dilemma lately that caused me to think about trying my hand at making my own fruit leather (the other name for a fruit roll-up). I had some pears and figs that were quickly approaching the *nasty* phase and yet I had no energy for another round of canning. So, I thought of fruit leather since the kids liked both pears and figs.

pears apples and figs

I threw in two apples that were also close to gnarly. I started cooking them over medium heat on the stove.

pears apples and figs #2

I didn’t add any sugar because all of these fruits were quite sweet. Keep cooking until they start getting thick and saucy.

getting thick

Run them through the blender and spread into a cookie sheet either oiled, covered with silpat or parchment paper (I did spray my paper).

in the pan

Spread it pretty thin about 1/4″ and then bake until dry (several hours) on either your lowest oven setting or 190 degrees. I chose 190 degrees because some days I don’t have the patience of Job and I have a tendency to rush things a bit. You will know when it’s done because it won’t be tacky when you touch it. I left the oven door slightly cracked via a kitchen towel.

fruit leather

Doesn’t it look yummy and gotta love the color the figs imparted.

hanging leather

6 thoughts on “Fruit Leather/Fruit Roll-Up”

  1. Oh my gosh! In the oven… are you kidding me?! I have a food dehydrator and I used to make fruit leather all the time… but of course it only came with ONE tray to do it, so by the time I got it all peeled out the kids had pretty much eaten all of it again. Oh I MUST TRY THIS!! I could keep us well stocked! I use my own homemade cinnamon applesauce for roll-ups and they turn out amazing. 😀 Thank you SO MUCH for this!!
    .-= Momma Knows´s last blog ..Week in Review: Lazy Momma’s Edition =-.

Comments are closed.