Just for Pho

No, that is not a typo, I wrote Pho. Why? Because I have completed my first Daring Cooks Challenge – Vietnamese Pho. Understand that Daring Cooks and Daring Bakers are both a part of The Daring Kitchen and because I am an overachiever, I signed up for both. 😉

The October 2009 Daring Cooks’ challenge was brought to us by Jaden of the blog Steamy Kitchen. The recipes are from her new cookbook, The Steamy Kitchen Cookbook. I had the pleasure of tweeting with Jaden and she really knows food and she is truly gracious with her food knowledge.

Vietnames Pho #3

The kids and I enjoyed this tasty soup. The kids really liked the broth and I think toasting the spices truly gave my out-of-the-box broth a depth of flavor that tickled our tummies. They could have done with or without the bean sprouts and surprisingly the rice noodles were another item that didn’t receive rave reviews. My daughter kept wanting more and more cilantro – she gets that from me. 🙂

Vietnamese Pho

Another component of this month’s challenge was wontons. Jaden made chocolate wontons and since I am still up to my eyes in apples, I did apple wontons with some homemade ice cream.

Apple Wontons

I am still working on my food photography so getting a pic before the ice cream melted and while the little people kept running into the kitchen to take another wonton and run off to devour it quickly, that’s the best you gonna get. They were very good!!!

All in all, another great challenge and happy to be a part of The Daring Kitchen, come join us!!

12 thoughts on “Just for Pho”

    1. Go for it….the Daring Kitchen is truly making me step outside of my comfortable cooking box. 🙂

  1. That looks delicious! I am a lover of all things pho, so this is right up my alley. Please share the recipe as this is one recipe I would love to try. FYI, Peanut loves pho and requests it all the time.

  2. Speaking of cooking out of our element, I thought that I’d be cute and make some fortune cookies for the choir that my girls are in (I put corny jokes in them) and it took FOREVER. I mean like 35 fortune cookies = 4 hours. The kids liked them but they didn’t like them enough to excuse the amount of time spent making those buggers.

    Anyhow. My little brother LOVES pho and his favorite place to get it? ‘What the Pho.’

    1. *What the Pho* that is hilarious. I will put my Christmas order in now for some fortune cookies. 🙂

Comments are closed.