Obedience or the lack thereof

Some days I feel that the otherwise adorable little people that I have been blessed to call my children have been overtaken by alien beings that are hard of hearing, incapable of listening and definitely not trying to follow the rules of our home. As I sat stewing to myself, I was hit in the head with a rock – they are acting no differently than I have a tendency to act when it relates to being obedient to my Heavenly Father.

Ouch! That one really hurt! You see, like my kids my disobedience isn’t a constant thing. There are days when they are the most attentive, listening and compliant children one would ever want and I’m the same way. There are days when I read God’s word and it instantly hits home and there is no debate, no wiggle room..I see it, I believe it and I change myself to act accordingly. As of late, I can’t say that has been the case. I shared yesterday how I was feeling restless in my spirit. You see, I find myself not being content with what I have and with what I am at this stage/season of life.

In Philippians 4:11-12, Paul shares – Not that I speak from want, for I have learned to be content in whatever circumstances I am. I know how to get along with humble means, and I also know how to live in prosperity; in any and every circumstance I have learned the secret of being filled and going hungry, both of having abundance and suffering need.

If I were honest, with myself, I would share how:

I have moments when I am jealous of those moms that stay at home and send their kids to school….why? Because they seem to have lots of time to do things that they want to do and if I did that I could spend my time making jewelry, sewing, knitting, cooking, baking to my little hearts desire instead of trying to fit these things in where/when I can.

I want to be able to do something on the side that would bring in some money so I can buy whatever I want like some new fall boots or more kitchen utensils.

The real truth of the matter is that deep down these things would only provide temporary happiness for me and probably long term unhappiness for my family. These desires are totally selfish and not in accordance with the mandate that my hubby and I feel God has outlined for our family. I have a wonderful husband that more than provides for all of the needs of our family. We have a lovely home and we have full closets and cupboards. The so-called luxuries of life, I am able to enjoy. There is not a need that I nor my family has that is not met, yet the trappings of this world often can bring about a spirit of discontent.

So, today, I will focus on my own obedience and practice being content whether I have much or little and resting in this stage/season of my life instead of striving to get someplace that isn’t the place that God has for me.

5 thoughts on “Obedience or the lack thereof”

  1. OH Kiva I know exactly what you mean!! I have ridden that stupid rollercoaster so long that I finally got sick of it. God put me where I am, right now, for a reason. It took me a big roundabout circle– THAT INCLUDED putting my kids in school for a period of time– to realize that I was already doing what I needed to be doing, and loving it, and that these other THINGS I thought I wanted were just things. At least God didn’t have to hit you over the head with a 2×4 like he did me! πŸ™‚ God bless!
    .-= Momma KnowsΒ΄s last blog ..β€œZero Tolerance”= Zero Common Sense =-.

    1. Dawn – it felt like a 2×4 considering how many times I too feel like I have been on that rollercoaster. πŸ™‚ Prayerfully, I have taken my last ride on it. Blessings to you as well!

  2. Wow that really hit home and was exactly what I needed! It put everything that I have been feeling into perspective. Thank you God for using Kiva to deliver your words.

    1. Sweetie, I am glad it ministered to you and now we can hold each other accountable so we don’t go back there again. πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.