Oh Friday

My son gave me this the other day….

occupying thoughts

Am I the only one that thinks he is perfectly okay skipping all holidays just to get to Christmas? 🙂

I didn’t purchase bread this week during grocery shopping. In my mind, I was going to make some on Tuesday, Wednesday, well I finally started it Thursday night. I didn’t like the heaviness of my Joy of Cooking white bread recipe and really wanted to do a wheat bread and we usually buy the store brand honey wheat but of course, I was trying to get rid of the preservatives that guarantee that extra long shelf life. So, I pulled out Nick Malgieri’s How to Bake and did the honey wheat variation of his white pan bread.

starting to rise

It is a stickier dough than I was used to and I exceeded the 5 1/2 cups of flour the recipe called for but she started rising last night just wonderfully. I punched down and divided into 2 loaf pans. One of my pans is longer than the other so my breads aren’t identical twins.

not identical twins

Twins or not, the bread was delicious. 🙂 I had some with butter and it is light and fluffy and not heavy so I think I may have discovered a new bread favorite. Of course, the ultimate test will be when my son tries it and gives it his seal of approval, will keep you posted.

tasty with butter