Almost Golden Eggs

Between blogs and twitter, I seem to have a never ending list of books that I want to read. As a self-proclaimed bibliophile, I have books upon books upon books in my house. My hubby doesn’t have the same love of books that I do and while I would and could fill every bookshelf in our home, he prefer that I not. πŸ˜‰ So, in order to quench my book thirsts, I take full advantage of our public library. Our small library is like Mayberry and they all know my name and the kids names and we are there several times a week. Rarely do I visit and there is not a book on the *hold* shelf for me as I am the queen of requests.

Recently, I requested Confections of a Closet Master Baker by Gesine Bullock-Prado. I had heard several people mention it and so it went on the request list. I started reading it on Sunday night and immediately liked it.

ConfectionsMasterBakernewCOMP

What kind of book is it? Well, it is a memoir that is witty and it is a cookbook as it has some yummy recipes. However, you choose to classify it, it is holding my attention. The opening pages have a story and a recipe for Gesine’s Golden Eggs. Have you ever read a recipe and it kept creeping into your thoughts and permeating every fiber of your body? This is one of those recipes! I fought off the urge to get out of bed at 12:45 a.m. on Monday morning to make these but by Monday night…..

Gesine has a video demonstration on her blog. I watched it and it sealed my fate – I had to make these golden eggs. So, I had the little Professor bring me the buttermilk carton from the fridge and panic started to set in…was there 1 1/4 cups? So, I went straight to the kitchen and pulled out the Pyrex. The buttermilk was a tad shy of 1 1/4 cups, so I finished it with half-n-half because lack of buttermilk was not going to stand between me and these eggs.

Next was the issue of the butter. Two sticks at room temperature, not possible, would take too long and it was already 7:30ish so I unwrapped the butter, plopped it on a plate and put it in the microwave. I know, I cheated but it’s my kitchen and I am able to bend the rules. πŸ˜‰ Twenty seconds later, I had soft enough butter. So, I proceeded with the creaming of the butter and sugar.

creaming the butter and sugar

I didn’t have an egg mold and for a moment thought of using the bunny molds but quickly gained a hold of myself. I opted for the bundt pan (same used in demo), a heart shaped silicone mold, mini muffin pan and not pictured is the big muffin pan that the remaining batter filled 6 compartments.

waiting pans

She warns you that it takes quite some time to fully cream the butter and sugar and she’s right. It took at least 10 minutes but it is so worth it. Add in the rest of the ingredients and you will have this…

the batter

After baking, dunk in melted butter and then roll in cinnamon sugar. You will have a confection that makes your taste buds smile and you will do a happy dance. The yellow cake batter can be used in various ways and I see using it again as the taste is simply delightful. Here are the finished yummies…

small yummies

more bundt yumminess

It does make a lot but don’t be alarmed. I put one in the microwave this morning for about 22 seconds and it was divine! Of course, I have to share with others or my hips will surely be much wider because I can eat all of them by myself! πŸ™‚

There are more recipes in this book that I am book marking and I will add this book to my Amazon wish list.

http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=viewfromthefa-20&o=1&p=8&l=as1&asins=0767932684&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifr

2 thoughts on “Almost Golden Eggs”

  1. I am a big book (and CD, and DVD…) orderer at the library, too! I’ve done that for years because there are so many things I hear of that I want to seek out. Now that I work in a public library, I see that there are other people who order tons of stuff, so I don’t feel guilty at all. Not that I ever did much; it’s part of their services. It’s so fun now when I tell people that it’s possible to order things that aren’t at our library. There are people who never knew this, and they’re amazed! And then they keep coming back to pick up their stuff.
    .-= BethΒ΄s last blog ..Pullet Eggs =-.

Comments are closed.