Daring Bakers Challenge – Vols-au-Vent

The September 2009 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Steph of A Whisk and a Spoon. She chose the French treat, Vols-au-Vent based on the Puff Pastry recipe by Michel Richard from the cookbook Baking With Julia by Dorie Greenspan.

This was my first Daring Bakers challenge and I was so excited. Of course, life intervened and then I got the reveal dates messed up but I still completed the challenge and I was very happy. 🙂

Puff pastry is often found in my house in the freezer. Before that it is found in the frozen food section of the grocery store. After reading the instructions and watching a PBS video of Michel Richard and Julia Child, I felt ready to tackle this challenge. In between cooking Sunday dinner and other things, I started the process.

Here are my lovelies as the bake in the oven

in the oven

These wonderful little holders can be filled with sweet or savory items. I went sweet because it was late and I needed some sugar. I filled them with some fresh figs and mascarpone cheese and drizzled them with honey. They were quite tasty and I look forward to the next challenge.

Daring Baker - Vols-au-Vent

7 thoughts on “Daring Bakers Challenge – Vols-au-Vent”

    1. Thanks so much! It was a lot of fun and I look forward to the next challenge. Thanks for stopping by!

Comments are closed.