I think I'm falling in love

So now you are wondering with what? 😉

jam it, pickle it, cure it

Yes a cookbook – jam it, pickle it, cure it!! I won this book from the lovely people at Canning Across America based on a preserving canning wisdom essay.

I own many cookbooks and I mean many but since I held this book in my hands and thumbed the pages, I have been giddy! I literally want to make everything in it and I mean everything. In order to control my excitement, I thought I would start at the beginning and make crackers, yes crackers!

basic crackers #3

These are the basic crackers and they are topped with just salt and pepper. But trust me the flavor possibilities are absolutely endless! The book lists these variations – rich cheese, rosemary/olive oil and sesame/poppy/onion crackers. That’s just the tip of the flavorberg – what does that mean – that you will see more crackers from me. 🙂

basic crackers #2

Using this recipe, you can make your crackers bigger or smaller, breadsticks or flatbread. They are light and crispy and so yummy.

basic crackers

Crackers aren’t the only yumminess served up in this book. There are quick and easy recipes for mayonnaise that she promises will make you turn away from the bottled stuff. Also, kimchee, lard, marshmallows and one of my faves b-a-c-o-n!!! That’s right, bacon. Everyone should have a cookbook that tells them how to make bacon.

Even though, I have only made the crackers, I do believe that this book is a serious keeper that will be well used in my kitchen, so I want to share its yumminess with all of ya’ll, well ya’ll in the continental United States and Canada. 🙂

What do you have to do to win:

1) Leave me a comment on how much you love crackers, crackers with bacon, or just bacon;
2) Tweet about this giveaway and then come leave the link to your tweet (will earn you another chance);
3) Become a subscriber to my crazy ramblings (if you are thanks so much – let me know, if you are new – let me know) (will earn you another chance);
4) Blog about this giveaway and come leave a link to your post below (will earn you another chance).

There you have it, while it only takes 1 chance to win, you can earn 4 chances to get Jam it, Pickle it, Cure it! Comments will be accepted until Sunday, September 20th at 3 p.m. EST and a winner will be randomly chosen at that time and notification will be via email (make sure to include in comments).

Note: Book will ship from Amazon to you based on address you provide to me. I am not responsible for Amazon’s shipping quickness or slowness. 🙂

19 thoughts on “I think I'm falling in love”

  1. I love all things crackers! I would love them more if I could make them. This is my first time posting a comment here. I have read your blog before and enjoy it very much. I follow you on twitter and frequently do the #FF shoutout. You are one of my favorite canning maniacs 🙂
    .-= Jennifer (4bratz2luv)´s last blog ..~Wordless Wednsday~ =-.

  2. I am a great fan of water crackers. A water cracker is particularly amazing when it holds a gob of cream cheese topped with a dollop of red pepper relish. Of course, other crackers have their places particularly if there is bacon involved… which, in itself, should be classified as a food group by the food and drug administration. Can’t get enough bacon. A how-to book that explains how to make my own crackers somehow mated with bacon? That would be an awesome prize. Thanks for the opportunity to try to win it!
    .-= cityslipper (home kitchen garden)´s last blog ..Home Kitchen Garden Bloom Day – Sept 09 =-.

  3. Love crackers… love bacon. Never tried crackers with bacon but could be persuaded 🙂

    Digging the book. If I don’t win it I’ll definitely have to buy it.

    I’m already a follower but I just closed my Twitter account tonight (before I read this) because, really there is only so many hours in a day.

    We just started back to school so I don’t know if I’ll have time to blog about it but did I mention I really dug the book?

    Okay… just checking 😀
    .-= Lainie@ Mishmash Maggie´s last blog ..Leisl’s Science Corner: 1.3 A Chemical Reaction =-.

  4. Crackers are my bedtime snack.. after I’ve had something sweet I need a cracker and have thought about but never attempted making my own.

    Crackers with bacon.. oh my! Pioneer Woman has a recipe for a retro appetizer using only crackers, parmesan cheese and bacon.. amazingly good and truly bad for the health!

    Will go tweet now. I am already a follower of your blog 🙂
    .-= HisFireFly´s last blog ..WFW – September 16 – Fire =-.

  5. I love bacon and crackers! The only crackers I have ever made are the cheddar-pecan-cayenne ovals that are a staple of my holiday offerings…..full of butter and cheese and cayenne pepper topped with a pecan half and so delicate they defy gravity and melt in your mouth! I found you through your flickr photos and am now following you on twitter and added your blog, a newly found fave of mine, to my reading list! so I will not miss a post about your recipes and life! I twittered about this giveaway and will tweet you there as glitzypursegirl! I would love to wing this book! Have a great rest of your day! ~ Michelle
    .-= michelle´s last blog ..welcome home jaycee =-.

  6. my original tweet
    glitzypursegirlbook giveaway!”Jam It, Pickle It, Cure It” by the Farmstead Lady,I want to win! http://bit.ly/3Pv7E3

    @Farmsteadlady tweet
    glitzypursegirl@Farmsteadlady great giveaway!”Jam It, Pickle It, Cure It” by the Farmstead Lady,I want to win! http://bit.ly/3Pv7E3

    RT
    glitzypursegirlRT@Farmsteadlady I love Jam it, Pickle it, Cure it so much, I want to share with you via a giveaway – http://tinyurl.com/lzdjlj. Yummy!
    .-= michelle´s last blog ..welcome home jaycee =-.

  7. Oh, I think I’d like that book. I’ve tried making crackers once, but they weren’t good. My kids eat crackers regularly, and I’m always looking for ways to make the things my peanut-allergic DD eats from scratch. Crackers would be awesome!

    I tweeted about your contest: http://twitter.com/betsytor .

    And I do subscribe to your blog!
    .-= Beth´s last blog ..The Lost Hen =-.

  8. I spend nearly 65% of our weekly grocery budget on bacon. But since I do not trust commercial factory crackers, I have been living involuntarily cracker-free for too darn long! Oh, but to make a cracker using bacon drippings…that’d make me some happy.

Comments are closed.