Oven Dried Peppers

As the summer harvest begins to come to a close, what I thought were no slow growers have now become prolific producers. What am I talking about – peppers! Green bells, heirloom fish, spicy jalapeños, hot Chinese 5 color, and sweet/hot banana peppers are growing like weeds.

Mixed Peppers

Of course, I wondered and wondered what to do with them and shared that wondering on Twitter and a lovely twitterer and foodie blogger suggested oven drying them. I gathered some peppers, washed, and then proceeded to cut of the tops and any bad spots. I laid them out on a cookie sheet with some parchment paper and turned the oven to 190 degrees F.

Peppers-before oven drying

While the peppers are drying, your house will be filled with lovely aromas but also as a result of the chemicals in peppers, your family may exit the house. Mine decided to clean out the minivan, which I thought was terrific. 🙂

Van cleaning #1

Van cleaning #2

After several hours in the oven (it was at least 2.5 but was probably more), the peppers came out of the oven.

dried pepper

Peppers-after drying

The skin starts to feel like leather and they shrivel up and quite frankly it’s a feel thing. I chopped them up using scissors while in the jar because I didn’t want to release any juices that may have been remaining. I can’t wait for the winter so they can add some spice and heat to our meals.

Dried peppers in the jar

As with gardening and life, one should always think of improvements and I think next year I will look to invest in a dehydrator for drying peppers, tomatoes and herbs. 🙂

10 thoughts on “Oven Dried Peppers”

    1. I am just sealing them in an air tight jar. I have purchased dried peppers from a local Amish/Mennonite market and they are just stored in containers, so I am feeling pretty good about it. 🙂

  1. Dear Kiva,

    I just read your comment on SarahMae’s blog about President Obama speaking to th students. I was very impressed by your arguments and felt that you did an outstanding job being both logical and more importantly Biblical. Your kids and husband are very blessed! Thank you for the wonderful insights
    .-= Jessalyn´s last blog ..How to Leave a Comment =-.

  2. You will be amazed at how much you use a dehydrator if you get one. After I do my drying (this year it’s peppers, pears and tomatoes so far), I vacuum seal the bags which keeps them fresher and keeps any bugs from showing up in the bags or jars.

    I also make hot sauce which is easy. Just this year, my sister told me about Bittman’s easy hot sauce recipe which I will try out when peppers really come in here in Northern CA.

    Thanks for sharing. The more we all do with our food, the better.

    1. Jill,

      Thanks for stopping by and for sharing…my family loves hot sauce so will add that to the list of items for next year.

  3. Thanks so much for posting this!! I have tons from our garden and wanted to dry them – but have had a problem w/ mold forming inside the peppers when I did! Oven drying will solve that problem! Great pictures too!

    PS I have a mini-van too, and it needs cleaned – perhaps today is the day 🙂

Comments are closed.