Can On America & the World!!

Jalapeno jelly with sunlight

We all know that when life gives you lemons you should make lemonade, so when your garden gives you jalape&#241os, you make jelly. 🙂

Last year, my peppers weren’t so prolific but this year they are coming in droves and I’m all about using what I am given so we have made pepper-onion relish and now jalape&#241o jelly. I used the recipe from Ball’s Complete Book of Home Preserving and here is the recipe. I have read that it is good with cream cheese and crackers – will let you know.

While on the topic of canning and preserving, I was tickled pink the other day to find out that I had won a copy of Karen Solomon’s book – Jam It, Pickle It, Cure It from the wonderful folks at Canning Across America. Today, I was humbled as they began to share the essays of the winners and here is my essay. It will provide you with more of why I do what I do and please know that I am not a canning master, but I do believe that with a desire to use what you grow or can buy locally and a few resources, you too can produce some great slow food for you, your family and your friends!

Go get your can on!!

6 thoughts on “Can On America & the World!!”

    1. Cindy,

      It’s spicy and my peppers had some definite heat. 😉 Will let you know when I try it with the cream cheese which I assume will balance the heat.

      Thanks!

    1. Hey lady, thanks for that vote of confidence because even though I had tried the recipe I was wondering if I had gone off the deep end. 😉

  1. Just yesterday one of my girls asked for hot sauce on her pb&j. I started thinking about jalapeno jelly but honestly don’t know much about it. Is it a cream cheese only thing or might it be good with peanut butter?

    1. Hmmm, hot sauce and pb&j that might be stretching it. I think the cream cheese helps mellow out the heat but hey she may be on to something, I say go for it! My son puts hot sauce on just about everything that he doesn’t want to eat and he swears the hot sauce makes it all taste better.

Comments are closed.