A Member of the Club

Corn Souffle

Remember in high school, when we all tried to be members of certain clubs or groups. Thankfully, I was one of those gals that did well academically, played sports and still was fun to be around or at least that is how I remember myself. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I remember when I first started blogging, the same lovely ladies always commented and we were like a little club and then the ebb and flow of blogging changed that for some but one of my longest readers is still with me (shout-out to Karen).

If you have been following along, you see that I have had quite a few posts about cooking and food related items. I am still homeschooling and doing other things but when one’s garden reaches output levels like mine has it does seem that cooking is all that is done. Between the cooking, canning, preserving, freezing, my kitchen is getting a serious workout but I am thankful because our freezer and pantry shelves are being fulled with delicious treats that will keep us happy and fed during the winter months until next year when the cycle starts again.

While the necessary cooking is taking place, I have shared my not-so-secret desire to be the next star on Food Network and a desire to expand my culinary skills. So, while on Twitter, I have run across some other aspiring cooks and found out about The Daring Kitchen. Of course, I signed up to be a Daring Cook and a Daring Baker because ya’ll know how much of an overachiever I am…ha ha! My membership was granted into the Daring Baker club yesterday. Everyone is admitted in it’s just a matter of when you sign up so if you are interested sign up now so you can be approved on October 1st for the next challenge. I am excited to now be a part of this online club and look forward to challenging and expanding my culinary skill set.

Having just joined, imagine my surprise when last night while reading the Washington Post, they had an article about….(drum roll)….online club members cooking together. Come to find out there are lots of awesome groups that seek to band together and share their love of food.

Here are some links that might pique your culinary interests:

Pinch My Salt – bread, bread and more bread
Tuesdays with Dorie – baking group

If you find yourself more of a loner, I found this wonderful online video cooking school. ๐Ÿ™‚

Note – the picture above is the corn souffle that I made for dinner last night. It was quite tasty and the hubby and kids enjoyed it.

2 thoughts on “A Member of the Club”

    1. Thanks! The Tasty Kitchen is great and I have joined, just haven’t uploaded any recipes. It would be nice if they did a cook-a-long. ๐Ÿ™‚

Comments are closed.