Much Ado about Nothing

peach jam

We started school today. It was a gentle easing back in that included Language Arts (Grammar, Spelling and Copywork/Handwriting) and Math. We will ease History in next week and Science after we return from vacation. The local children start on Monday and while out today, I was approached by a lady who asked if my kids were in school. Of course I said no and then she told me about a local daycare. I politely informed her that we homeschool. She look confused for a minute. I think her original question was replaying in her mind but she didn’t ask me if they were of school age she just asked if they were in school.

We almost didn’t start today because I was still tweaking the schedule. After a late night last night, I just decided to bite the bullet and go forth with starting. In all honesty, the schedule will never be perfect nor will every day flow in real life as it does on the computer screen. 🙂

I canned the peach jam above last week. It is so yummy. So far, I have put away peach and strawberry jam/preserves and apples are starting to come in around here and my pears are looking good so of course they will also have the pleasure of being turned into jam as well as sauce and the apples must make an appearance in a pie with some ice cream on the side.

Speaking of ice cream, I have a favorite, do you? My favorite is Mint Chocolate Chip ice cream. As a child, I remember my dad taking me to the local Carvel and getting a big cone of ice cream with rainbow sprinkles. It was my dad’s favorite and while I have tried other flavors, I always come back to my favorite. It never occurred to me to make it but while wanting some but not wanting to leave my house and go to the store, I pulled out the Cuisinart and made some. Shhh, don’t tell anyone but I had to make another batch because I kept sitting up at night eating a bowl after the kiddos went to bed.

homemade choc chip ice cream

I am looking forward to experimenting with some more flavors in the near future. My son wants coffee which was actually my grandfather’s favorite and my daughter who is quite colorful in her dress and personality prefers…..vanilla. Go figure!

8 thoughts on “Much Ado about Nothing”

  1. Yum! Peach is my fave, if you make some, I am going to have to take a roadtrip!

    People still get confused about homeschooling. While we don’t, I have plenty of friends who do and their kids thrive. But people still give them funny looks when they are out and about.
    .-= Lisa´s last blog ..Need to update! =-.

  2. beautiful jam! and beautiful ice cream too, we just discovered the joys of preserving and making our own ice cream this summer, so i am much more appreciative of the accomplishment than i would have been one year ago.

    your jam picture inspires me to how i can take a picture of my own jam (peach-almond), so thank you!
    .-= rowena___.´s last blog ..developing my character by eating crow =-.

    1. Thank you and yes our own appreciation of some tasks is greatly enhanced by having done them ourselves. 🙂 Peach-almond jam sounds yummy!

  3. Love the pics! Now I’ve got to go shopping, because we’re out of supplies for just about everything & I swear, half the homeschool blogs I’ve visited this week have had pics of baked & canned goods…..

    Thanks so much for saying that you’re easing into school with LA & math the first week. I’m thinking that might be a good approach for us to take this year too, as we’re changing things up to adapt for newly diagnosed ADHD….

    Cheers!
    Ruby
    .-= Ruby in Montreal´s last blog ..Back to School Advice – Supplies Lists =-.

    1. Thanks so much! Easing back into school has been helpful for students and the teacher. We also have a vacation planned so jumping back in with both freet to later take a break, wasn’t a good thing.

      Thanks for stopping by!

Comments are closed.