No longer flying

I have always considered myself one of those fly by the seat of my pants kinda gals. (Quick, can you name that movie?) 😉 Seriously, I know what needs to be done and I get it done. No, it may not always happen when I would like and sometimes it is rushed, but it gets done. I have come to a startling revelation in the last few days, I may actually need to have a schedule. 😮 Yes, the strange noise you heard the other day was my screaming when this revelation became quite clear to me.

rooster birthday

Let’s see, between being a wife, mom, homeschool teacher, creative spirit that owns a store that hasn’t been updated, head chef, chauffeur, domestic staff, gardener, serving as the administrative staff for the church, blogger, aspiring writer, and the list goes on and on. I have realized that in order for things not to get out of hand, a schedule and the doling out of some chores to the mini-me’s of the house will go far in helping things run smoothly around here.

oil and vinegar

Now too many of you this seems like such an easy task. However, for the seat fliers, it is hard. I don’t like having a time to do certain things. I like to *make* when I feel inspired. I used to see nothing wrong with link following and spending away minutes/hours on the web because I was reading and learning. I like to do things when the mood hits me.

sugar bowl

The problem is becoming that the mood can’t hit me because I have so much looking at me that I feel overwhelmed almost to the point of paralysis. Being immobilized doesn’t help one get anything accomplished, now does it?

spoon rests

So, where does that leave me? I am trying out Google Calendar and also a paper schedule with chores for me and the kids that we can do daily. Also, setting aside time periods for the other things that are a part of my to-do lists. Hopefully this scheduling of items will help me and my home function just a wee bit better.

apron fabric

You are probably wondering what the roosters and chickens have to do with seat flying and scheduling. well, I love chickens and have a fascination with them. Still trying to convince hubby that they will be a great addition to our farmstead but he isn’t completely on board as of yet. However, that hasn’t stopped me from having them adorn my kitchen. 🙂

5 thoughts on “No longer flying”

  1. I recommend the book “Organizing Your Day: Time Management Techniques That Will Work for You” by Sandra Felton and Marsha Sims. It just came out this year. I’m only partway through it, but I know I need to implement their ideas. I love Sandra Felton’s other books on getting organized, because she understands the kind of person I am. If you’re a creative, fly-by-the-seat-of-your-pants person, I bet you’d like them, too. She also has a Christian focus, so I think you’d like that, as well.

    1. Thanks for the recommendation – I have already requested from our library! Can’t wait to read it.

  2. Huh, I forgot that Google had a calendar. I just end up writing things on sticky notes and sticking them on everything around me. It gets annoying, but I figure, at least I notice they’re there…probably not the best idea. 🙂

    1. Ha, I have done the sticky note thing and some similar ideas. My bigger issue is remembering where I left that particular note. 🙂

Comments are closed.