Where We Learn

NBTSbloghop

This week at Darcy’s Not Back to School blog hop, we are showing where we learn. One of the great things about homeschooling that I love is that learning doesn’t have to take place sitting in an (un) comfortable desk. Reading is often best done on a comfy couch, handwriting may take place at the kitchen table and math for your son may best be learned while he is jumping up and down. πŸ™‚ I know there are some that may shudder at such things but seriously, is it more important that they have learned or that they sat still while they were learning???

So, now for a tour of where we learn. When we started homeschooling, we had a room in the basement in which I made a huge whiteboard with help from my parents. However, when we moved we traded a basement for much more land. As a result, we now use a loft area in our home and it doesn’t have the wall space but once again, it’s more important that they learn.

school room #1

With the loft space, I often receive a striking reminder that on the end closest to the low bookshelves that I should leave the retrieving of materials to those that are shorter. My head would thank me if I could remember that before the striking reminder hits. πŸ˜‰

school room #4

school room #2

There are times, that we work at the kitchen table.

kitchen table learning

Wireless access often leads us outdoors, we have been known to throw a blanket here:

outdoor schoolroom #1

Have also sat out here:

outdoor schoolroom #2

Sometimes, when the Prince and Princess want to read, they go in here:

outdoor schoolroom #3

And, of course there is the floor, which is a favorite place for all things educational and fun!

floor learning

Thanks for taking a peek at where we learn. Last week, we covered what we learn. Happy homeschooling!!

13 thoughts on “Where We Learn”

  1. what a nice “campus” you have! and you’re so right, it is the learning that is most important, not the sitting. i am so impressed with how neat and orderly everything is!

  2. What a great use for a loft area! I’ve seen those in houses, and they are often forgotten spaces that don’t get used very often. You have a neat little school area. πŸ™‚

  3. Hey, I have the exact same table in my school area as you have in you loft. Great minds think alike :D. Thanks for sharing on the Blog Hop.

Comments are closed.