Gardening Update

A few weeks back, I shared a look around and I thought I would update you as to what is going on around these parts. 🙂

I go through a phase here where most of the blooms of the irises and the rhododendrons have fallen and we only have a smidgen of color, but oh it is a fragrant smidgen – the beautiful peony.

peony 2

peony

This is one of the 4 that come into bloom at this time. I still have 1 bush that hasn’t opened any and 1 that is already spent. Either way, I just love these beauties.

I planted this outside of the garden last year and it did nothing. Don’t recall what it is but since it was green when we sought to expand the garden, I didn’t till it under. I am so glad that I didn’t, she provides some much needed color to the otherwise green garden.

flowers

Remember this tomato –

big beef tomato

Check her out now with some of her bounty –

beefsteak tomatoes

These were the squash and zucchini seedlings a few weeks back

squash and zucchini

Now look at them, it always amazes me what sun and water will do

squash and zucchini

I also have spinach coming out of my ears…

spinach

Still need to transplant a few plants, primarily tomato plants and I have lots of deweeding to do but all in all, I can’t complain. Things are moving along nicely and I am looking forward to this years harvest. Thanks for stopping by!

5 thoughts on “Gardening Update”

  1. Beautiful! I love watching the miracle of new life in the garden!

    The spinach made my mouth water – none of mine came up. Still jealous of that beautiful green tomato! 😉

  2. Kiva,
    The little white flowers are sweet williams, and the larger fushia ones look like another type of them by the blooms.

    Lovely garden!

  3. Beautiful garden!! The ones you weren’t sure about look like dianthus. It’s hard to tell from the picture but I think that’s what it is. I have those too and love them!! If that is what they are, if you dead head them after they bloom they will keep blooming all summer long. 🙂

  4. I wish we had a vegetable garden as big as yours. Ours is doing quite well, though. We were gone for a little over a week and it seems that everything has suddenly shot up. Looking forward to some fresh summer bounty.

Comments are closed.