Taking a look around

The outdoors often beckons me and takes me away from the computer and blogging. I am still here and have a few posts lined up. Thanks to all of my readers for staying even when I seem to fall off from blogging.

I have been spending some time on Twitter as you can see from the sidebar if you come here and visit. Other than that, I have been busy with family stuff and outdoors stuff and of course the homeschooling stuff. I took some pics of some of what is in bloom or growing around here:

These rhododendrons grace the driveway entrance/exits:

rhododendron

rhododendron 2

These hang out around the side near the deck:

flowers

azalea

These hang out on the deck:

basil

tomato seedlings

mint

oregano

sage

lettuce

As you exit the deck and journey out back, you may run into these:

iris 1

iris 2

They aren’t too far from these lovely peaches:

peaches

peaches 2

Keep heading out back to the garden and you will see:

squash and zucchini

big beef tomato

Now one of the things, I was most proud of was when the little Princess kept pestering asking to cook something out of her cookbook.

cookbook

I read lots of reviews before deciding on this book and I was pleasantly surprised. I wanted a real food type of cook book and this delivers. The Princess chose cheddar bread and with very little help from mom, she whipped up this yummy bread. On Saturday mornings she likes to watch Paula Deen, but maybe Paula Deen better start watching out for her. πŸ˜‰

lil chef and her bread

8 thoughts on “Taking a look around”

  1. Kiva,

    I really enjoyed this. I wish I had a green thumb. Your mini cheft reminds me of my daughter. She aspire to be a chef when she grows up, and can cook her behind off. Thanks for sharing.

  2. The flowers and garden are lovely! You will havew a bumper crop. I planted a cucumber in a pot by my porch so it can use the railing to climb on. Hope it has a bumper crop!

  3. Thanks for the lovely garden tour. And that book, I’ve been looking for a cookbook for my kids that has real recipes (not just make a smile from your food recipes) I’ll have to look this one over.

  4. OK you have inspired me to go and plant the tomatoes and the basil! And now I know that I definitely want to get that rhododendron bush that I’ve been eyeing. I’m going to get to it this week!!

    By the way, LOOK AT LITTLE KIVA! Have you ever seen such a twin??! πŸ™‚

  5. Your flowers are beautiful!

    I’ll have to check out that book. I want to get my kids in the kitchen more. Unfortunately they aren’t of the same mindset as your daughter – I have to drag them in there. πŸ˜‰

    Your daughter is beautiful – and that break looks yummy!! πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.