Blueberry Muffins – yummy!

muffins

My kids love blueberry muffins!!! They are a favorite breakfast item for them and plus blueberries are great for everyone’s health. I have been asked a few times to share the recipe and sorry I don’t have food pics like the lovely Smitten Kitchen, but we will work on that. πŸ˜‰

My recipe is adapted from the basic muffin recipe in The Joy of Cooking.

Dry:
2 cups of flour (I use King Arthur)
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/4 tsp salt (kosher)
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1/2 tsp cinnamon

Wet:
2 eggs
1 cup of milk/heavy cream
2/3 cup of sugar
1 tsp of vanilla extract
1 stick of unsalted butter

1 to 1 1/2 cups of blueberries (fresh or frozen)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees and oil muffin pan or use liners. Mix all dry ingredients in a big bowl and set aside. Cut butter into pieces and melt in your microwave. In a separate bowl, combine milk, sugar, vanilla extract, and eggs, whisk together and then drizzle in cooled down melted butter. Pour all of your wet ingredients into your dry ingredients and mix until just incorporated. Fold in blueberries. Drop into your muffin pan and sprinkle with cinnamon and sanding sugar. Bake for approx. 15 minutes or until done, check with a toothpick.

Enjoy!!!

4 thoughts on “Blueberry Muffins – yummy!”

  1. They look scrumptious!! I’ll have to put them on my baking to-do list after the Better than Cinnabon Cinnamon Rolls

  2. These look delicious – I must try them sometime. I have tagged you with a meme on 5 Things You love about being a Mum – hope this helps bring more readers to your blog. No pressure of course!! Thanks for an enjoyable blog – love reading it.

Comments are closed.