Featured Artist Friday & A Giveaway!!!!

Wow, can’t believe we are at Friday already. Time surely does seem to be flying by, doesn’t it. ๐Ÿ™‚ Today’s Featured Friday Artist (FAF) is Beth from Redrock Lane Papercrafts. She makes lovely cards and other handmade paper items and we met via Twitter. I am in love with this Explosion Box…isn’t it great! It would make a perfect gift for Mom or Grandma for Mother’s Day.

Explosion Box

Let’s meet Beth, shall we…..

1) Tell us about yourself โ€“ name, location, any personal tidbits?

Hi, my name is Beth Ferraro. I live in Northern Colorado with my husband and two sons. My boys are 5 & 7 years old. They were both born in Austin, Texas where we previously lived for 6 years. I was born and Detroit and grew-up in Troy, Michigan. I am a papercrafter and have my own shop on Etsy called, *Redrock Lane Papercrafts*… I create cards, scrapbook pages and altered items by using rubber stamps, pretty papers, inks and embellishments.

2) When you are not creating items, what do you do for fun?

I love to spend time with my boys, cook, shop, go online, play slot machines, read, attend concerts and dine out.

3) When did you first recognize/accept that you were an artist?

When I was about 4-5 years old! I was excited about art supplies and carried them in a bag wherever I went. I’ve been that way ever since and I (try to) create everyday.

Journal


4) Describe your creative process โ€“ idea first or material first?

It is 50/50 for me. My creative process takes up a lot of my time. If I need a little inspiration, I’ll scour the Internet by checking websites and blogs. I also use magazines as references too. But, if I get some new products, then I’ll want to *play* with them right away! I love buying scrapbook supplies.

5) Describe a typical day for yourself in your studio?

I spend most of time in my *room*… It’s my sanctuary. I surf the web, get things ready to mail and of course, create!

6) Besides Etsy, how do you promote your work?

I BCC mass emails announcing specials, new listings and reminders. I also have a blog (http://redrocklanepapercrafts.blogspot.com) I use Facebook, Twitter and MySpace, as well. I also talk about my work all the time with people I come into contact with.

7) Any advice for other artisans?

Be yourself, do your own thing, and don’t worry what other people think. And, if you’re in the mood to create, take it and run because there will be many times when the desire cannot be found.

Thinking

Now for the giveaway information, if you purchase from Redrock Lane Papercrafts and mention “Farmstead Lady” in your buyers comments, you will automatically be entered to win a set of 4 full size cards. How gracious of Beth, so hurry on over and get your Mother’s Day shopping finished. Thanks to Beth for letting us get to know her and her world better.

Card

2 thoughts on “Featured Artist Friday & A Giveaway!!!!”

  1. Kiva~
    I got my earrings in the mail yesterday! They are absolutely beautiful, you did a wonderful job on them! I want to put a picture up of me wearing them, but my camera broke so I’ll have to wait till Hubby either fixes it, or buys me a new one!

    Thanks so much!
    Missy

Comments are closed.