Catching Up

Wow, time does fly even when all things are not fun. I hope everyone had a great Valentine’s Day and if you were off that you enjoyed your President’s Day. We went to a program at my BIL’s church for V-day and it was actually quite cute and they even crowned a Mr. & Mrs. Valentine complete with crowns, sash and flowers. We then headed out of town to visit my FIL as he turned 91 on Sunday – Praise the Lord!! He is still doing well, eats whatever he wants, smokes and because where they live is so rural, he gets into his pick-up and drives around…..I think he would be devastated if the kids took his driving privileges away but Lord knows that I pray he doesn’t injure himself or someone else while he is out.

I have several packages to mail and don’t foresee an opportunity to make it to the PO until next Monday or Tuesday so I am asking for patience from those waiting on some things from me.

Last week, I had to go to the Endocrinologist in that I have a goiter and after some blood tests, it was determined that I have Hashimoto Thyroiditis, try saying that 5 times fast. Basically my body generates antibodies to attack my thyroid. At this time, my doctor just wants to monitor me and I am cool with that as I was not interested in hormone pills nor surgery but needless to say it was a week of constant prayer as the appointment approached and continued prayer that the condition doesn’t worsen. My blood work also revealed low Vitamin D levels so I have to take extra vitamins for that. I don’t like to take pills of any sort so taking this plus a multivitamin has been interesting to say the least.

I took a great metal class last week at a local bead store. My teacher has her own site and Etsy store, check her out. I am excited about incorporating some new techniques into my work and of course I am still praying for my 1st sale. πŸ˜‰

Garden planning is underway and I am looking forward to this year being that I am expanding the garden. My neighbors and I were talking about trying to partner up on some things so we can all benefit…kinda like our own CSA.

I thank each of you for reading and sharing in my adventures.

7 thoughts on “Catching Up”

  1. wow! you’ve been busy, and i’m so glad that you don’t need meds right now. i’m the same way about pills, but i have to take some. waaa. i’m not too good about it, though.

    your first sale will come. hang in there, and just PLAY! have fun. learn and learn some more!

  2. Kiva,
    Sorry to hear about your thyroid and I will say a prayer it will get better. It is amazing how that little thing can cause some havoc when it is not quite right.

    As for your first sale, give it time and it will come. :O) I have my fingers crossed!

  3. Sorry to hear you aren’t feeling great, but also happy that meds aren’t necessary right now! I’m not one to take anything either, even a Tylenol. πŸ™‚

    Saying a prayer!

  4. Oh no, so sorry my friend to hear about the thyroid but the blessing is it was found. I took a Peggy’s advice on remembering to take my preventative chemo pill, set an alarm, same time every day. At first it did not seem neccessary, but when you are busy sometimes you look at that bottle and go hmmmm… did I take that already, or was that yesterday!

    Metal class, was that the one you sent me? ouuu I did want to go. Need to fit these things in. Praying for my first sale on Etsy too. Much love and prayers going up for you and the family. Squeeze in a little rest from time to time MARTHA!! πŸ™‚

  5. Southy!
    I’ve been not so patiently waiting for your how-to-plan-a-garden post but all I got was some rub in about how you have cool neighbors!?!
    ..sigh..
    I’ll be praying about your thyroid and I’ll have to tell a funny story that I’ve got about old folks who are on the road but time is short here…

  6. Praying for you with your thyroid- God can do all things and my own thyroid disorder has been in full remission for years thanks to His healing.

    I don’t know how I missed your blog move announcement but am so glad to have found your new space- beautiful beadwork you are doing (and I can’t wait to see what you create in your metal class)

Comments are closed.