Reflections on the day

first-family

We have a new first family and I think they looked lovely. The Princess is quite smitten with Malia and Sasha and I think the Prince has a crush or two, we can’t figure out if it is one or both of those beautiful girls. 🙂

As I sat today and took in all of the events, there were so many thoughts that ran through my head. I thought of my Great-Great-Aunt that is 100 years old and never thought she would see such a day. I thought of my deceased grandfather that worked as a civilian for the military working with the equipment that the military needed to do their jobs effectively yet he couldn’t vote. The stories could go on but my stories are the same of so many others in this country.

I recall being in college as a Political Science and having arguments with friends over taking the right to vote for granted. I think about how it has only been about 41 years since the last miscegenation laws were wiped from the books in Virginia. This was a historical day for this country and only those ignorant of history would think otherwise. Whether you approve or disapprove of the new President, he is the new President.

I am also reminded of words from 1 Timothy 2:1-2 – “I urge, then, first of all, that requests, prayers, intercession and thanksgiving be made for everyone – for kings and all those in authority, that we may live peaceful and quiet lives in all godliness and holiness.” (NIV)

As a Christian, we are to pray for our leaders. God didn’t specify that we pray only if they are the ones we voted for but we are to pray because they are in charge. Not only should we pray for the President, but also the Vice-President, Members of Congress, the Supreme Court Justices, Mayors and all of those in government.

As we move forward with the myriad of challenges that face our country, I do hope that we all will embrace H-O-P-E and that we will pray earnestly for our leaders.

Another set of reflections revolved around the President and the First Lady – they are one of the most striking couples that I have ever seen and they look very much in love. Not goo goo ga ga love, but a love that is deep and true where their is mutual affection, admiration and respect. In a world where we prefer so many things that are disposable, including our marriages, it is refreshing and encouraging.

So, did you have any reflections from today?

