Recipe Box Swap

Randiโ€™s Recipeย Swap

The always creative Randi is hosting a Recipe Box Swap and being that I love to cook and eat, I had to share a few favorites. I don’t have any pics of these yummy’s but trust me they are yummy. ๐Ÿ™‚

I would love to share my recipe for Zucchini Bread. It is easy to make and stays well, freezes well and my kids love it.

Ingredients:

3 eggs
2 cups sugar
1 cup vegetable oil
2 cups grated zucchini
3 teaspoons vanilla extract
3 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
3 teaspoons cinnamon

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees, oil and lightly flour 2 bread loaf pans (I use the 2-in-1 spray)
1. In a large bowl, whisk together salt, baking soda, baking powder, flour and cinnamon, and set aside.
2. Mix eggs, sugar, oil and vanilla with electric mixer (batter is forgiving so you can cream sugar/eggs first or you can just dump everthing in)
3. Gradually add flour mixture to egg mixture, batter will be thick.
4. Add grated zucchini and mix until just blended.
5. Split mixture between pans and bake for about 1 hour or until tester comes out clean.

It is delicious as breakfast, afternoon snack, small bite before bed…enjoy!!!

Another favorite is Summer Chicken & Ziti Salad. This is super easy and perfect for gatherings as it can be served room temperature.

Ingredients (adjust for your size gathering, this will feed 6-8).

2 whole skinless chicken breasts (approx. 1 1/2 lbs.)
2 tablespoons of fresh lemon juice
1 box of ziti pasta
2 large red bell peppers diced
2 1/2 cups diced celery
1 medium red onion diced
1/4 cup fresh dill chopped
3 tablespoons white wine vinegar
2 tablespoons mayonnaise (not miracle whip)
2 tablespoons dijon mustard
2/3 cup of quality olive oil
Kosher salt and pepper to taste

Directions.
1. Grill chicken breasts in a grill pan, on the bar-b-que or in your George Foreman.
2. Remove chicken and place in a dish, sprinkle chicken with lemon juice and allow chicken to cool.
3. Boil water and cook ziti, drain but do not rinse the pasta!
4. In a large bowl, combine ziti, peppers, celery, onion and dill.
5. Remove chicken from lemon juice mixture and cut into bite-sized pieces, add to the pasta. Keep the lemon juice mixture.
6. Add to the lemon juice mixture, the vinegar, mayonnaise, mustard and salt and peper.
7. Add olive oil in a slow stream while whisking vigorously (a blender or food processor can be used but do not overmix)
8. Toss pasta with dressing, re-salt/pepper if necessary.
9. Serve room temperature.

6 thoughts on “Recipe Box Swap”

  1. Both recipes sound so delicious. My husband will love the zucchini bread. I’ve never made it myself before but I should as it’s his favorite. Also, the Summer Chicken and Ziti Salad recipe is perfect for some of the small casual dinner parties I give. Thank you so much for sharing both recipes!

  2. I make zucchini bread too! In fact, I think that might be the same recipe I have! You can also make muffins out of it. They are really yummy that way. ๐Ÿ™‚ By the way, did you know you can substitute applesauce for the oil and it turns out just as good with a lot less fat?

  3. Wow! That’s awesome! Congratulations on not only your blogaversary but your posting too! 310! I’m not even there yet…
    Getting closer though.
    You’ve been tagged. Come over to my blog and see.

  4. yummy. I love breads and loaves and your zucchini bread sounds very good. I’ll have to try it and maybe make muffins out of it. Its good to be able to freeze them and just take one along to work each day. Yum. The chicken zita looks like a great recipe also. Thank you for sharing.

Comments are closed.