There was more than a dream

On this day, when many are out of school and out of work and enjoying a long weekend, it was more than a dream that Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. had that shouldn’t be forgotten. I have spent a majority of the day watching Eyes on the Prize and even had my children watch it with me and they saw the dogs and the water hose sand even though it is graphic, I feel it is important that they understand what those that came before us have done in terms of laying the groundwork for how we live today.

After slavery, my ancestors on my Dad’s side moved from Virginia to New Jersey so things were different in the North and there wasn’t such a strong desire to hold on to the way things have been when it came to integration. It often amazes me how many of us wish to sweep this country’s history – good, bad, and ugly – under a rug. If we don’t know what has happenned we are very likely to repeat it and quite frankly I definitely don’t want a return to the days of old but in many ways, I think we still have some of the ways of old that have just been updated to fit the current times.

After a discussion this morning with my kids, my daughter wanted to know why people would kill such a nice man that said such nice words? What would your answer be?

6 thoughts on “There was more than a dream”

  1. Wow, that is a profound question from your daughter. I believe it is because people hate what they cannot control. People wanted to control and since they couldn’t control Dr. King, they had to eliminate him.

    The good news is that it only made the resolve to lessen their control more steadfast. Thank God, the right side won and I am hopeful is still continuing to win and to educate. Tolerance, it is all about tolerance!

  2. Gosh, I don’t even know how to answer something like that. All I know is that his legacy lives on and my hope is that people continue to learn to accept people based on who they are, rather than the color of their skin. We miss out when we look at someone and judge them by their looks or skin color, or other perceived notions.

    Tell your daughter to keep asking questions. Someday she may come up with some amazing answers!

  3. (you asked!)
    I would tell her that the Bible *guarantees* that we will be persecuted for our complete obedience to Christ. I would tell her that God knew all the way before Martin Luther King Jr. was ever even born what would happen to him. And God also knew that Martin Luther King Jr. would stick by His side and do what He asked of him, no matter the cost. That’s why God chose Him.

    And for us (to my daughter), I pray that we too will be brave enough to fight against injustice. I pray that we will be called. I pray that we too will be obedient to God’s calling just like MLK. Wherever it takes us. Whatever the cost. Because, in the end, it’s all gonna be for His glory.

  4. I just read a beautiful quote from MLK on another blog…
    β€œFaith is taking the first step even when you don’t see the whole staircase” Martin Luther King, Jr.

    Raquel, that was a great answer.

  5. It is so inpsiring to see that you are talking about these issues with your children, even though they may be a bit graphic at times. The program “Eyes of the Prize” is a wonderful one, and I hope that your children will share with their own chilren (someday!) the lessons they have learned from it. I second the idea to continue to encourage your daughter to keep asking these types of questions. It is always a great pleasure to read your blog.

  6. Wow, what a hard question to answer. Sin?

    I tried to explain Martin Luther King a little to my daughter, but she’s still trying to wrap her mind around slavery (she’s 5).

    Good post!

Comments are closed.