Some firsts – snow and hats

Yesterday we had our first snow and the day started out with us driving to Baltimore to see the kids Godsister in a mini performance of The Nutcracker. She did fabulous and her point work was terrific. Of course navigating there on the highways and with drivers that didn’t really feel like they should slow down to allow for the elements proved more than interesting. We saw at least 12 fender benders and a few flipovers but thankfully it didn’t look like anyone was injured. We left Baltimore and headed to the mall for ornament shopping. Being at the mall and lunch time, the kids wanted pizza from Sbarro’s….they are in every mall, aren’t they? πŸ˜‰ My mom wanted to keep shopping but quite frankly I was getting tired and we started to make our way home.

When we arrived home, the snow was still coming down but no longer heavy and some had actually started to melt but that didn’t stop the kids from wanting to play so out they went.

who threw that

shake shake shake

Nana helped them make a snowman as Momma doesn’t really do cold. πŸ˜€

nana and the kids

the snowman

The snow actually picked up so my mom stayed the night and the kids continued their play today. They rolled down the hill in the backyard.

rolling down the hill

rolling down the hill

The great thing about last night was that I finished a hat. I have knitted scarves and purses but never a hat. Of course, I have some definite tweaking to do on the next one but my Mom really liked it so she took it and went home to my Dad. πŸ™‚

my first hat

5 thoughts on “Some firsts – snow and hats”

  1. Your mom is beautiful!! πŸ™‚

    I am so glad with all those traffic issues, you guys made it safely. Enjoy the snow (well, maybe not YOU, but the kids) and have a great weekend!!

  2. You are welcome to box up that snow & send it our way! We only get it once or twice a year. Sounds like you had a really fun day. Your mom is beautiful!
    p.s. There is an award waiting for you over at my blog.

  3. Zamora is wondering if your daughter was wearing a skirt in the snow?? She thinks that it would be fun and that I should let her do it to (she’s reading over my shoulder).
    Anyhow, I don’t do cold either. The twins want to go sledding for their birthday and I simply will not be going to the mountains. I love them enough to keep the house … clean … while they’re gone :0

Comments are closed.