Thursday Thoughts & Mail

Time is winding down to the big wedding on Saturday. I have only coordinated my own wedding and hubby and I met and were married within 6 months so let’s just say there was not a lot of time to hem/haw over various decisions. A dear friend has asked me to coordinate hers and it is so sweet to see their young love (24/26). I did finish the veil and she liked it but the pics did not come out great so in the midst of everything else that I will be doing, I will try to snap a pic on Saturday.

I have received some great things in the mail lately, so I must share.

Anita of Bloomin Workshop held a contest for her tree skirt pattern. Being a generous heart she sent it to all commenters and not just the winner. My goal is to have it completed by next year and knowing me it will be next year this time and I will be frantic as I haven’t started yet. 😉

Quilt pattern

Speaking of Christmas, our home usually becomes a winter wonderland of purple and silver as those are our my Christmas colors. Of course, they have evolved as ours but this year I wanted to add in some blue and turquoise. I went to Joann’s on Saturday and they had these ornaments that had all of the colors I had thought about in one container, 78 pieces for $15.

new ornaments

I would love to have the home decorations completed by the first Sunday of Advent but I am not sure that is going to happen. But I did take time today to decorate the doors of the Princess and the Prince. They particpated in a kids card swap on Swap-bot so I used the cards and the cute envelope all the way from New Zealand to complete the doors.

Prince's Door

Princess' Door

I also did garland stars in their windows.

Window star

They were both very excited and it is the little things that make our home and holidays special.

Speaking of Swap-bot, I did an owl swap and received my goodies from my partner. I am so in love with the scarf that I have worn it almost every day since it arrived. The rest of the items are a black canvas bag with a felt owl, an owl bandana, and a glass/metal owl.

Owl swap goodies

I did a Sewing Notions Swap hosted by Red Hen Studios. My partner was Missy at Spring Bean Things. It was great to meet another blogger with similar interests even though we are many states apart. She makes beautiful items including girls clothing, so make sure to check out her items.

She sent some great items including that oh so adorable fabric notebook with the reindeers. The picture doesn’t do enough justice, there is a gnome tissue holder, great fabrics, buttons, trim, vintage cards and other goodies. Of course being a spaz I forgot to photograph what I sent her so I am hoping that she blogs about it as there was probably enough trim to trim a tree. 😀

Sewing Notions swap

My blogging buddy Euphoria did a pay it forward and it is sad that she sent mine before I could think of sending hers, but it is all good. 🙂 What is truly important is the sharing and connecting and this is what she shared with me….isn’t it cute!!!

the container

the contents

Okay that is it for me, I hope your Thursday is a good one!

6 thoughts on “Thursday Thoughts & Mail”

  1. I’ve been thinking of you! I hope the wedding went smoothly. I just saw that Simplicity has a line of patterns inspired by Project runway.

    I thought you were the perfect girl to tempt with that knowledge!

Comments are closed.