? for jewelry crafters or crafters in general

I have a question and I am looking for some opinions…Every year, I usually do Christmas wreaths and swags but over the past 2 years, I have been making/selling some of my jewelry as well. I recently sent out an email letting everyone know that I am taking orders and a friend of mine indicated that 2 of the id badge holders that I made for clientele that she referred have broken. She was wondering if they were made out of the same material as hers as hers is like kryptonite despite the everyday (well except Saturdays and Sundays) wear and tear. I do believe that it is out of the same wire but (hold tight, I am getting to the question) I can’t really remember as it has been over a year since they made their purchases. Neither of the clients have indicated the problem to me and the id holders were $18 at the time of purchase and one of the clients has other jewelry items from me with no problems, so should I send them a message offering a replacement or considering the wear and tear, has the item served its useful time?

I am torn because I do like having a good reputation with my products but also I know that some things will not last forever. What would you do?

5 thoughts on “? for jewelry crafters or crafters in general”

  1. that’s tough… it has been a year, they did not say anything to you, but you still want to have a reputation of good items… I say, your reputation will not be diminished- a year for an $18 dollar item, which has gone through wear and tear, is sufficent.

    Hope that helps- you could reach out to them and offer a mini discount too?

    I guess those options leave you back a t square one! Sorry!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. I would say to offer them some sort of consolation this time (like 5% off next purchase of $25 or more) and use this opportunity to write up a limited warranty for your products to cover yourself and your customers for future instances like this one.

  3. DUDE! I made jewelry for our last adoption and everyone (worst of all, my mom) thought that I should fix it after they snagged it on something! I did the first two or three and then just quit because Macy’s doesn’t take the stain out if you spill on the new sweater… know what I’m saying?

    (and yes, I do still fix my moms. life time guarantee for moms, I guess.)

    But you might be nicer than I… Seriously, I would wait until the actual person with the broken item asked you.

  4. Why not offer to restring them? That way you are the hero if you restring and if they don’t have the parts, you still offered. It is all dependent on how they “use” them. I tend not to wear long necklaces as I get tangled in them and end up pulling on them. It might be that theirs gets more wear and tear than the other lady’s.

Comments are closed.