The Bachelor (ette) – Is it me?!?!?

Warning – Mini tv rant ahead…

Many seasons ago, I stopped watching this must be hit show on ABC. Last night it followed my kids all-time favorite show – Dancing with the Stars. I don’t know if they know it but that show is a hit with the 5 and under gang. 😉 They weren’t able to catch the entire episode that dragged on 1.5 hours because they had to go to bed and in the midst of a few things like laundry, I left the tv on ABC. Now that the Closer and Saving Grace are over, my Monday evenings are pretty open for uh laundry. I digressed, the gazillionth episode of The Bachelor came on and in between loads, I found myself watching.

The Bachelor is a self-made millionaire that is handsome and yet…drumroll….he can’t find nary a soulmate in the city of Austin nor the entire state of Texas. Poor baby….so ABC wants to help the loveless lad and round up some 25 babes for him to get to know in a short time span to see if one of them is the woman of his dreams.

C’mon women, wake up????? Do you really think that you are going to be the one??? Do you really think putting yourself in competition with 25 other desperate gals is the way to a man’s heart??? One gal even came prepared with a bikini and decided to make a splash of her own…she must have been a girl scout when she was younger.

Anyhoo, could someone please explain how there are major tears when you find out that you are going to be one of the ten dismissals??? You just met the boy, there is no love lost, there is no love connection, he is making his decision on who is the hottest (as defined by him) and who doesn’t seem to be 1 step away from the crazy house. Why subject yourself to such humiliation and shame?

The track record of this show has yielded 1 wedding despite many proposals and the 1 wedding and now baby was for the first bachelorette – Trista. None of the guys (or the subsequent bachelorette) have married the gals (guy) that they fell so madly in love with after their 1-on-1 hot tub dates. I guess these gals never heard the old adage about buying the cow when the milk is already free.

Mini tv rant over…and now back to much more substantive posts like crafting. 🙂

4 thoughts on “The Bachelor (ette) – Is it me?!?!?”

  1. Same here! I’ve never watched the show (other than a few seconds here and there while flipping channels) but I just don’t understand any of it! How crazy to think you could find someone to SPEND THE REST OF YOUR LIFE WITH on a show like that!!!

Comments are closed.