Monday, Oh Monday

Happy Monday to each of you!!! I hope your weekend was great, terrific, fantastic… 😉

So much to share, where to begin…

Birthday recap:

I did celebrate my birthday on Friday and for dinner I went here. I had been to this restaurant twice before and loved it but was underwhelmed this time around. I really don’t know what it is or what it was but after so much anticipation the menu didn’t have anything that jumped out at me as a must have or at least a must try so I wound up with a crab cake appetizer that did have a delicious corn relish (I must duplicate) and mustard creme fraiche that was quite tasty. For my entree, I just went with the grilled salmon with local seasonal veggies and it was good but Outback does a good grilled salmon for far less with veggies. Hubby had a crispy whole red snapper with a Thai curry coconut milk broth that he enjoyed. Hubby is allergic to shellfish and the menu was pretty seafood (specifically shellfish) heavy that night with only 2 meat specialities and both were beef (another item hubby doesn’t eat per his doctor). Dessert was a molten chocolate cake but quite honestly I make a better one. All in all, it was nice to go out and thanks to the wonderful ladies that contributed with the gift certificate as a present because I would not have been happy if we paid fully for that entire meal.

A bright spot of the birthday was the cute clutch that I made for myself to compliment my outfit. I picked the fabric up at Joann’s in the remnant bin and it was 75% off so I paid about $.28 (yes that reads 28 cents). 🙂 I looked at a pattern from this book, but wound up winging it because I didn’t do a zipper, basically doubled the pattern so I could have the outside be 1 piece and some others mods.

clutch

and here is the inside

inside of clutch

My parents came and watched the kids while hubby and I headed out and my parents were quite impressed with my morning creation. Hubby was as well but then again, he is always impressed with everything that I make…gotta love that!!

The kids

My kids have been hilarious lately in more ways than one and my daughter in particular as she is quite um….animated for lack of a better word. She could have a camera on her 24 hours a day and not tire from performing. In the midst of all of that she took time the other day to remind me, quite loudly, while in Target that I had promised her the opportunity to wash dishes. Maybe it is my childhood memory of dishwashing but I just didn’t feel like subjecting a 5 year old to such a chore. I mean there are lots of other things that I don’t like to do like dusting that she can do, so why take a chore that I do pretty mindlessly because I am usually staring out the window. Yes, we have a dishwasher but I just feel like sometimes (like after their breakfast) there are just not enough dishes to waste my time or energy. Anyhoo, she insisted once we arrived home, so I let her wash a few dishes and since then she has washed the dishes at least 1x per day.

child labor

She also ran into my room the other day and told me that she drew a purse..I had to get the camera…and before you ask, she has 4 tiaras and there are many days that she puts them on as a part of her outfit. 🙂

her first purse

While the camera was out, my son asked to take a picture (after being booted out of the above picture) but he wanted it with his sister…sibling love, how cute!

bambinos

Crafty pursuits:

I made a blanket for a friend from church, she had a baby girl. The little card didn’t show up well, but oh well, life goes on and you can still see the blanket. 😀

baby blanket for friend

Also, I worked on a few embroidery stitches. The lines aren’t straight as this is just some practice for much bigger and better things to come.

stitches

The week may be a busy one as we are due to start homeschool on Wednesday and I am watching a friend’s son on Tuesday, plus I have to get my work in for the Blogolympics, but don’t worry, I love future posting and coffee. 😀

14 thoughts on “Monday, Oh Monday”

  1. I remember wanting to wash dishes at her age. I also remember not wanting to wash dishes a few years later. =)

    Your daughter will be following in your footsteps. Now she is drawing purses, soon she will be designing her own and making them for 28 CENTS because she learned such skills from her momma.
    amanda

    Hee hee, I think I definitely have those not wanting memories. 😀 She loves being creative in her own way so I hope we can nurture that in a way that is glorifying to God. Blessings!

  2. Those are adorable pictures of your kids!! 🙂 Hahaha, and I have a picture from when I was about three years old, washing the dishes. I think it’s one of those things they like to do just because you do it and they want to be like you.

    Thanks and they say imitation is the best form of flattery. 😀

  3. Happy belated birthday! Even if you weren’t thrilled with your meal, at least you got an evening out with the hubby. That’s always a treat in my book! Your new handbag is fabulous! I love the bright, happy colors.
    Back with I was about 5 years old, I used to LOVE doing dishes. Too bad that didn’t stick, LOL! I know that my 6 yr old would love to do them if I ever let her. At this point I’m afraid she’d make more of a mess than it was worth.

    The first time she washed dishes it was with her Nana (my mom), who spoils her rotten, but then I noticed that she didn’t do a bad job but still I thought it was a fad…silly me. 🙂 Thanks for the birthday wishes and the handbag compliment – coming from your talented self, it means a lot. 😀

  4. Seems like you have been keeping yourself busy! Oh, how I miss that age…the kids are just all energy and enthusiasm. What cuties you have! Very ambitious with your crafts, too. I love all three. You had to show embroidery , right? Now I am looking for my long-buried hoops …;)

    Hee hee, yes, I seek to be the enabler of others in their crafty pursuits. 😀

  5. Your kids are DARLING!! My little one (3 years) LOVE helping with the dishes… it is a taks that my huzban and little Juju do together. I’ve never been a fan of washing dishes, or laundry, or the house… thank God for my hubby who loves to assist with those chores! Your little princesses purse is SO cute too! Happy Belated Birthday!

    Thanks so much and you are indeed blessed with a wonderful hubby. 🙂

  6. Happy Birthday! I was wondering why I didn’t see you around for Motherhood Monday! Love the clutch, too. I am partial to colorful things and bold patterns!

    Thank you!!! I am still going to do Motherhood Monday but it will be a little late this week. Color and bold do go nicely together. 🙂

  7. I wanted to wash dishes at 5 and it was fine until a few years later when I was the ONLY person in the house who ever washed dishes! I don’t think its necessarily bad, especially since she’s enjoying it but just a few times a week(and rotating chores when her brother gets of age to want to help) will let her keep enjoying the task. Love the clutch the fabric is so cute!

    She may feel like you in a few years because her brother has expressed no interest in washing the dishes. 😀 The clutch was easier than I thought, I have been eyeing my fabric to make another one.

  8. Oh and totally forgot to mention how adorable your kiddos are!!! They both have beautiful smiles 😀

    Thank you, they are adorable, especially when they are getting along…and when they aren’t, well ummm…not so adorable. 😉

  9. I am ADDICTED to Joanns remnants! Pushing all of the not-so-cute rolls aside until you find just the right one… sigh…

    And my kids also think any chore (minus their rooms) is the coolest thing ever! I really love how they help us to see things in a whole new light 🙂 I hope we get to know one another better.

    Remnants rock!!! I am so intrigued by your family life and look forward to reading and seeing more..

  10. LOVE the clutch. And the baby blanket. I think it’s fabulous that you made a blanket — and such a chic one at that! — as a present. I think, truly, from now on, that will be what I give any time a friend has a baby.

    Thank you so much!! I thought back to my little ones and it seemed that I could never have enough blankets especially when they get to moving and you want to have blanket time or just something soft for them to sit/lay on, plus they are super easy! 🙂

  11. My mom used to let my brother wash dishes because he loved to do it. He’d make a titanic mess but he’d love to play in the bubbles and water and would do it for hours!!! I think he was the same age. That was what he did when we were supposed to do school work. 🙂

    I didn’t read all your post, I’m sorry, but I ABSOLUTELY LOVE Those smiles!! Oh my goodnesss….they are adorable. Just thought I’d tell ya.

    Now I’m on to find out about blogolympics and the writing prompts…Hmmm…play time for mommy. THen dinner.

    Thank you so much! I just pray that they keep their sibling love. 🙂

Comments are closed.