It’s Official!!!

Yesterday we received our paperwork back from the county indicating that A is officially recognized under the home instruction program. Woohoo!!!!!!

I am so excited and considering I had heard some not so encouraging stories about the staff at the home instruction office, they returned the paperwork within less than 2 weeks of my sending it in, I don’t think that is bad at all.

Of course, I am equally nervous and excited about our journey. Let’s face it, since our children were born all parents do some form of home instruction or at least I would like to think they do. πŸ™‚ It is just different now in that she is really ‘enrolled’ so to speak in what society marks as the beginning of education – Kindergarten.

I still have a few items left to tidy up in terms of a schedule which I need to keep myself on track but the intent is to really just continue our flow of some math, more reading, story time and a mild intro to history/science with a unit study approach. Also, art and music as those are definte areas of interest to my daughter and see if she still really wants to learn Spanish and sign language. When I type it out it seems like way more but really it isn’t that bad being that only Bible, Math and Reading are done daily.

I hope each of your plans are firming up as you like and if they aren’t they you are bending like a willow tree as you make adjustments. πŸ˜€

5 thoughts on “It’s Official!!!”

  1. That is really exciting! I just sent my paperwork to the county and I am cannot wait to be official too! Congratulations to you!

    Thanks so much and here’s to hoping your paperwork comes back soon. πŸ™‚

  2. Congratulations!! Is she your oldest? For some reason I thought you’d been homeschooling for awhile. Of course you have been regardless of the fact she’s just now starting kindergarten because you are so right when you say we have been doing some type of homeschooling since they were born! It’s just a continuation of motherhood! πŸ™‚

    Thanks and yes she is my oldest. I feel like I have been homeschooling for awhile probably because we have been doing something since she was 3 1/2 in some form or another. I think you hit the nail on the head with the continuation of motherhood. πŸ™‚

  3. Official Congratulations! That is exciting! Maybe we should start a tradition for getting our annual acknowledgment from the school district…

    I’m leaning toward a manicure, to prepare us for all the hard work ahead! πŸ˜‰

    Hee hee, I like the manicure idea. I also like your retreat to the woods and a cabin, maybe that’s what we all really need. πŸ™‚ Thanks for the congrats!

  4. This is exciting!
    I am always interested to hear what another state requires. Ours (Missouri) does not require any notification. When we moved here from Tennessee, we did not even have to let the state know we had children. We have some record keeping requirements, but they are only necessary to prove we’re homeschooling properly if someone turns us in. We don’t have to report anything annually to the state.

    In Tennesee, many families registered their children under Umbrella Schools in which they just turned in grades each semester or year, so that the family would not have to follow the particular state laws.

    Does Maryland require any annual reports, or after approval are you now free?

    amanda

    I fell out my chair when you said you didn’t even have to let them know that you had kids…too funny. πŸ™‚ We do not have annual reports but we are to have a portfolio review 1x year and you show a sample of the work that your child has completed. From what I understand there are like 3,000+ homeschool families in my county and 1 lady responsible for those portfolio reviews so she doesn’t get to everyone but it is the law so I guess I will be a pest to her come February. πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.