Time Travel Tuesday – Spouse Encounter

TimeΒ travelers
Was it love at first site? or did it take a little longer…
Let’s travel back to the day we met our spouse.

The first time that I saw my hubby we were at a new event at a church in DC and he sat behind me and my friends. I noticed him but I was not looking to meet anyone new nor was I looking for a relationship at the time as I was starting a new job and had just come out of a relationship that was based upon some lies that weren’t revealed until later. I felt that I was at a place that I needed to sit still in order to hear more clearly from God about my next steps.

The church I was attending at the time had a very active singles ministry and they were hanging out the next night at yet another event. Later I realize that they had a Christian Peyton Place going on but that is another story for another time. Anyhoo, my hubby was the speaker for the evening at the next night’s function so he and I chatted but I figured that he wouldn’t remember me from Eve so I just filed his number away. (Being single and living in a big city, I did not give out my number.)

I called him a few days later and he did remember me and we just started talking on a daily basis and there would be times that we would stay on the phone until the wee hours of the morning, I mean the wee hours. πŸ™‚ I went to a few of his church league basketball games and then we went to lunch on Valentine’s day and he held my hand and this was the first time that we had held hands since we met 2 months prior…he proposed in March and we married in June (yes that is 6 months since we met) and we just celebrated 6 years of marriage.

Doing this has made me realize that I do not have any pictures of us in a digital format. 😦

I found this at Are we there yet? and it all started with Annie.

9 thoughts on “Time Travel Tuesday – Spouse Encounter”

  1. What a great story! Thanks for sharing. I really enjoy reading everyone’s memories. Have a great rest of the week!

    Thanks so much. I am still reading others and it is cool to get a sneak peak into way back when. πŸ™‚ Thanks for stopping by.

  2. Thanks for sharing, that is a lovely story. You need some pictures!!

    Hee hee, I do need some pictures. I am usually the one taking the pictures so I must get on the other side of the camera. πŸ™‚ Thanks for stopping by.

  3. What a lovely story! I don’t have digital pics either – didn’t exist when I got married HA HA I just scanned mine on my printer, but I’ve also seen where people took a photo of a photo with their digital camera & it turned out fine.

    I thought about that idea and since I couldn’t guarantee the outcome, I just moved on. πŸ™‚ I chuckle at the stack of wedding photos and nothing is in digital format. Thanks for your post on Time Travel Tuesdays, it is a neat project.

  4. Lovely story- what a special and sweet time travel πŸ™‚

    I was so tickled to find the Time Travel Tuesday project and how great to walk down memory lane. I tend to be forgetful so I made sure to add to my Bloglines so I will remember next Tuesday. πŸ™‚

  5. What a great story! I love hearing how people met their spouses. I met my husband on a radio show called Dr.Love!

    There has to be more of a story behind this one. πŸ™‚ Thanks so much and I hope you share yours one day.

  6. What a wonderful story! I think it is so important to keep these stories alive so people realize that happily ever afters do exist despite what the world tells us.

    I couldn’t agree more, or should I say moore. πŸ™‚ Life may not be a fairy tale but you can make it one if you choose.

  7. Your story was so sweet…I just loved reading it! Thank you for sharing! πŸ™‚

    Thank you so much for the kind words and for stopping by. πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.