Handbags & Frogs, Gribbit

What a crafty afternoon!!! My parents have their goddaughter and 2 pretend goddaughters for 1 week and my kids can run my parents crazy but 1 teenager and 2 preteens really have been running them ragged. 🙂 The girls liked one of my purses the other day so my mom thought it would be great to teach them a little craftiness and make some handbags.

They picked out their own fabrics from Joann’s clearance and we did change out 1 because she had picked a flannel that just wasn’t going to work so we traded out hers for some pink in my stash. She is 9 and at that in between stage of trying to leave kiddie stuff but not yet ready for big girl stuff, if KWIM.

Here are the 3 bags that they made and if you look closely at the pink groovy swirl, S went in my craft room and got out the Bedazzler and added some bling to her bag. You have to love a girl that seeks to embellish. 😀 Following suit, B decided to embellish a scrap of her fabric that she tied on like a scarf.
3 Bags

The other day I talked about my burnt pocket and I am glad to share that I did complete A & Z’s Purl Frog t-shirt like this one. A wasn’t wearing hers so no pics.

Z & Purl Frog

5 thoughts on “Handbags & Frogs, Gribbit”

  1. Very cute! That was sweet of you to share your crafty knowledge with them!

    Thanks so much. I was so tired after but they were happy and hopefully they will go home with more than just cute bags – a seed of craftiness may have been planted. 🙂

  2. those are beautiful! 🙂

    Thanks so much and thanks for stopping by..I liked the brown one so much I had my mom head back to Joann’s to get me some. My fashion is being influenced by a teenager….oh no 🙂

  3. I love your new look! (I’ve been on vacation so I haven’t read much for the past month.)

    I thought that I would go for something different and I am glad you noticed. Vacation…lucky you and I do hope you enjoyed yourself.

  4. *Love* the fabrics and the purses, and your little man looks like he loves his frog shirt too … thanks for sharing!

    ~Heather

    Thanks and he is truly loving his shirt…he and your daughter must be on the same page with that fabric. 🙂 I love that he is at the age that when mommy makes something it is cool.

  5. Oh those are so cute! Recently I’ve been pondering sewing a few handbags of my own, er, for my girls. 🙂 A girl in our youth group has this really cool bag. It’s reversable, a hobo-style bag, but it has really LONG straps that TIE, so she can wear it as high or low as she wants to. She usually slings it crossways over one shoulder and it rests on the opposite hip. It looks really simple. I have some fabric in a box, but haven’t used my sewing machine in a couple of years…

    Go for it, you can do it!!! Plus you can teach the girls as you both do it together. I know that Mother Crone’s has posted about it lately and Such Treasures. Also, here is a pattern for a shoulder bag that sounds like what you mentioned tha ta lot of folks have used in blogland. I’ll go get the pompoms to encourage you on. 🙂

Comments are closed.