Some deals sound better than others

I feel bamboozled and hoodwinked. Lately I have been venturing to a not-as-local Safeway for my groceries for several reasons primarily because it is newer and I just like it. 🙂 After my first trip, I learned that if you spend more than $50 for groceries that you receive $.10 off per gallon of gas. Granted, gas prices have dropped a little teensy eensy weensy bit but $.10 off per gallon sounds soooo good. In my mind, I was skipping at $2.71 a gallon instead of the price of $2.81 per gallon.

So, after a second trip, I decided to fill up the gas tank. The tricky part is that you must go inside to swipe your Safeway card for the $.10 discount to be applied so after filling up, I swipe my card and sign my receipt and look at my savings, I saved $1.30……what?!?!??!?!?

Of course, if I actually did the math then I may not have been as surprised but math was not really on my mind at the time. 😉

2 thoughts on “Some deals sound better than others”

  1. Sooo the question is did you spend $1.30 in gas to GET to this not-so-local Safeway? 😉
    We have a gas station at our local Fred Meyer, but we swipe our store card at the pump. We get 5cents savings per gallon unless we’ve spent $100 in the store in the past two months, then we save 10 cents. Their store prices aren’t good enough to spend that much, so I settle for a five cent savings… and it’s really close to home so I’m not spending my savings just getting there.
    Yup, sounds like you were bamboozled!

    I plead the 5th on that one. 🙂 I will check on my next visit about swiping at the pump because then I feel less bamboozled because you know that ignorance can be so blissful.

  2. BTW, you only spend $2.81 a gallon?? It’s $2.89 here!!!

    It depends on where you go…the closer in to DC the higher and the further out the lower. Near my house, the prices range anywhere from $2.81 (BJ’s/Safeway) to $2.93 (most gas stations). I hear that the Costco is cheaper but that is too far to travel for some cheap gas.

Comments are closed.