Quick – I need a cheerleading uniform!!!

I don’t need an actual uniform even though it may help. I find myself easily amused by how quickly a day can go from blessed and oh so thankful to just downright crazy. Hubby and I had one of those pesky disagreements that escalate for no apparent reason, ya know the kind. Yes, I could have just stopped talking, but quite frankly I didn’t feel like having a quiet spirit because my flesh was riled up. Needless to say it wasn’t pretty but just like in Ephesians 4:26, we didn’t let the sun go down on our anger.

We talked about the day and other stuff and it seems that I am not exactly great at encouraging/encouragement, hence my need for a cheerleading uniform. I tend to go into analyze/analysis mode when hubby shares something and sometimes he would just like a “yeah, honey that was (fill in the blank)”. I can have a tendency to be too smart for my own good and need to solve the problem at hand instead of just taking in the information as it is presented.

Thankfully, there were quite a few other things that were shared and forgiveness and grace extended on both parts and the conclusion was good. A dear friend of mine has shared something similar and the fact that sometimes I can say something or ask a question (after someone has shared something) that makes them feel not as smart. She knows that I do not do it on purpose it is just how I process it and then the questions/comments come but even though she deals with it because she knows me, it isn’t a good thing. I need to make some changes, so prayers are appreciated. ๐Ÿ™‚

Are you good at encouraging? Can you share any scripture verses, tips, pointers to a sister that is stuggling in this area?

2 thoughts on “Quick – I need a cheerleading uniform!!!”

  1. This is a good post. I, too, and quick to analyze and overanalyze things, but I hate when people do the same thing to me — makes me feel like my your friend said it made her feel. Why, oh why do I do this and why can I not seem to stop. I need a cheerleading uniform too!

    Blessings!

    ~Hether

    Okay, I am going to get our orders together for our uniforms. ๐Ÿ™‚ I am going to keep praying and I find myself being more mindful of it but honestly that can sometimes bother me because I find myself thinking too hard about responses and the like which is probably a good thing but uncomfortable for right now.

  2. Great post. I really am into needing affirmation ๐Ÿ™‚ So when I don’t have it from my husband I feel really unloved. I love to encourage though… so i’m not sure i have a ton of advise… except maybe what i would tell my husband which is… whenever you notice something you like about me say it out loud. But maybe he doesn’t think that way? I don’t know. Maybe be slow to speak and think about if what you are saying will be said in an encouraging way?

    I have really had the bickering issue lately. Sometimes it is os hard to not give into our flesh and say things we know we should slow down and consider. I’m firey at times and I dislike that about myself so much.

    Thanks for your honesty, says a lot about your character!

    Hee hee, another fiery one..I am definitely more spicy than my husband. I am more words of affirmation with my kids than my husband which obviously needs to be corrected. I am quite chatty but not in the affirmation sense more in the analysis sense which can obviously get under one’s skin at some point. Care to join me on the slow to speak train ride? ๐Ÿ™‚

Comments are closed.