I've got nothing to wear

How many times have you said that after walking into your closet? I have said it numerous times and I have been at a crossroads of late in the fashion sense in that I do like to be stylish (that is not the same as trendy) yet I feel as though my style and wardrobe could use some attention. Being a SAHM, I used to not even go through the motions in the morning. Thankfully, that has changed for me in that I do get dressed in the morning and even do my face (if only foundation). πŸ˜€

On the way back from Cincinnati, I found a few cute purchases at the outlet mall and a local TJ Maxx but they were pieces to add to my existing wardrobe and pretty run of the mill in terms of blouses and a cute pair of $5 jeans. I still was feeling a need for something different. Now that I have pulled back out the sewing machine, I felt I needed a challenge to push me in the area of change. I have found just the thing in Wardrobe Refashion. A new group is starting August 1st and I am already drooling like one of Pavlov’s dogs.

I felt it was just the challenge for me in that I always love the hunt of thrift shopping and I will have 1 of a kind pieces that are just for me. Also tonight after watching TLC’s What Not to Wear, TLC had a new show – I’ve Got Nothing to Wear. Three up and coming designers refashion pieces for a client. It was quite interesting and thought provoking. I didn’t really like anything that they made in that most of it was quite hoochie for my tastes, but there were idea sparks that were there and in the look books. I will never look at my closet the same way again.

Of course all of this serves as a sugar substitute for the new season of Project Runway. πŸ™‚

Refashion, refashion, refashion

3 thoughts on “I've got nothing to wear”

  1. Thanks for the visit and comment on my blog, and for the compliment on my quilt. I love to sew, but have never sewn anything but skirts for myself. Thanks for the links … they look good.

    Blessings!

    ~Heather

    Thanks for coming by…I am really looking forward to refashioning my wardrobe and really pushing myself creatively. Of course being a SAHM, it also helps my stewardship. πŸ™‚

  2. I absolutely love that site!!! Thank you Thank you Thank you for sending that. Getting my machine out for those blankies really gave me the bug! I want to sew more, but oh the time. But this could be a lot of fun. I’m back down to marriage weight so I have a few different wardrobes I could play with to make fit! I just read the new post a girl posted about her babysitter wanting to make her drapes into a dress… reminds me of sound of music! That is so cool. I showed my husband and he was rooting for me to take the 6 month challenge, but I told him I needed to start realistic and go 2 πŸ™‚

    Thanks for pointing me there. I also looked at your Flickr photos and added you. Your little ones are too cute!

    Go JJ with the enthusiasm..I am just signing up for 2 months and we will go from there. I like a challenge so it will hopefully stretch me in a good way. The dress out of the drapes was too cute. I am glad that you liked it and prayerfully we will keep each other motivated. πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.