Is this normal – update & Would you do this?

Thank you once again to all of you who shared your thoughts regarding Is this normal? As an update, our friend came to his own realization that it would not be wise to stay with us due to some hiccups during his move. I thank all of you for your prayers as I think God helped him see through his fog. πŸ˜€

He has only been over a few times and he hasn’t worn out his welcome. He was a little chatty when I was cutting/interfacing pieces for my 2nd handbag but I let that slide.

Now that the update is out of the way, another question for ya’ll. My neighbor has asked me to watch her son (turned 3 in May) for almost a week in August and yes this includes overnight. Her hubby has decided to take them out of the country but he didn’t factor in childcare and she doesn’t want to nag (remember Proverbs) so she is seeking alternatives. I have watched her son a few times (daytime only). She has asked around but noone else is available and if I can’t do it, she says that they will have to take him to Missouri to family members so that is more $$$ getting there and back.

He does play well with my kids but I guess it is awkward for me as when I have gone away with hubby, my kids have stayed with my parents. I am not completely retentive but I am used to my kids kind of rolling with our flow. When I saw my neighbor at story time she quipped that her son goes to bed at 11 p.m. and is up at 4 a.m., that definitely wouldn’t work in our house. πŸ™‚

Ministry, hospitality, neighborliness or just plain craziness….would you do it?????

6 thoughts on “Is this normal – update & Would you do this?”

  1. I would pray and do whatever God would lead me to do, be it yes or no. No guilt allowed.
    And I would inwardly hope the answer was no.
    If it were yes, I’m sure God would have stretching and blessing involved on my part.

    amanda

    Thanks for the reminder about not having any guilt. πŸ˜€ Maybe we should turn “No guilt allowed” into a bumper sticker.

  2. I gotta tell ya, I’d have a hard time agreeing to watch a kid who is going to wake me (and maybe the kids too) up at 4am for a week!! I love the suggestion of praying and it is definitely the right thing to do. In my case, I know hubby would say no stinking way–thank goodness.

    Good luck either way! And I agree with Amanda-no guilt allowed.

    Hee hee, I am not a morning person so 4 am wake-up calls would make me entirely too cranky. My kids are fully awake before me quite often yet play quietly in their rooms until mommy is fully awake. Being that hubby needs his sleep, I am leaning towards days only with another neighbor (that she is closer too) doing nights but I am still in prayer.

  3. is there no one else that can share the problem? maybe part of the problem was her not asking people for shorter amounts of time… like 2 days each or something.

    I would pray about it though like has been mentioned and i would be confident in your answer once you have it. I would not put up with 11 -4. if he is 3 and under your roof he should be able to respect your rules. maybe explain that to his mom in advance? it isn’t even healthy for a child to get such little sleep. (not just my opinion but says the APA).

    Anyway, let us know what you decide!

  4. Oh yeah- and if you have to say no and they have to go to missouri, that really isn’t your issue. be okay with that if that is the answer. I tend to feel like I have to make up for others’ mistakes or lack of planning a lot.

    Yes, I too have that people pleasing gene that I try to supress, it is not always easy. I do think that she should have considered breaking up the amount of time because it is quite a bit of time for the family and for their son. Also, it is my understanding that they are going out of the country because she said they need their passports. I am still in prayer, because I would think that family might be best in case something happens being that they are not readily available. I have made sure that my hubby knows that childcare needs to be worked out in advance. πŸ™‚

  5. “Ministry, hospitality, neighborliness or just plain craziness”

    A little of all three I think. But then again ministry when done right is often quite crazy by worldly standards.

    Thanks for the smiles. I do think you are right that it does seem crazy.

  6. I find it a little strange that the husband made plans to go out of the country and didn’t even factor in care for his son. Very weird. Unless they are missionaries of some sort? Would you leave your son or daughter to go out of the country at the young age of 3? I wouldn’t, unless there was a super duper compelling reason. Especially these days. And especially not with *non* family.
    All that said, sometimes God calls us to stand in where no one else would – and this 3 year old is not a grown man (as in your earlier dillema), and would prob. be encouraged by your home and family. So, there is that.

    They are definitely not missionaries so I too find it strange. I have been in prayer about this and I am not going to do it. I kept thinking back to how Zech put the hole in his foot from just running around the house, what if something like that were to happen with her child and he needed ER visits and the like, I think stuff like that needs to be done by family of which I am not so I am not going to do it. It is just another of those times, when you really wish people just don’t ask you because of the situation/predicament/dilemma you are now in. Thanks for the thoughts.

Comments are closed.