Age at Baptism

I was baptised when I was 5 and grew up in church, went to college and stayed away from church unless I was at my parent’s house or one of the major church days of the year (Easter, Christmas, etc.). Occassionally I would go just because but I was not walking with the Lord in a real and personal way. I have many friends that had similar experiences and we are of different denominations (Baptist, Pentecostal, Methodist) and now as parents we find ourselves asking questions as to what age should a child be baptised?

Over the weekend, a friend’s almost 4 year daughter was baptised. I know of others that their children were 4 or 5 when they were baptised. Is that too young? Do you really understand what it means to have a real and personal relationship with Jesus Christ? I have been bouncing this around in my head for a few weeks now and I don’t have any answers. Yes, simplistically, it is when they understand but what exactly does that mean?

I grew up in a Catholic (dad)/Baptist (mom) home so the whole personal relationship thing was not even discussed. I know that my husband and I have a firm grip on it so we do and will continue to instill that in our children, but at what age should a child be baptised??

Any thoughts?

3 thoughts on “Age at Baptism”

  1. Hi,

    I stumbled on to your blog through a series of links from other blogs I read.

    I am an Episcopalian, but was born and raised in the Catholic church. I found a good link that may help answer your question. (see below)

    My answer would be, “Why wait?” As parents, we baptize infants on their behalves “sealing them as Christ’s own forever”. We have the opportunity to profess for ourselves and reaffirm our baptismal vows at confirmation.

    Try this Article for help.

    Hope this helps!

    God’s peace,
    David.

  2. I was baptised when I was 10 and my parents were pretty hesitant about it, but I talked them into it. I don’t think i could let my 4/5 year old do it. I don’t know though…. Mabye it is natural?
    I know that denominations that infant baptize believe they are doing so in faith.
    But I see it more as a commitment and proclamation of the new life to the world. I have a lot of friends who got baptized young and fell away from God for awhile that got baptized when they came back. Good question though. I guess I shoudl think about this!

  3. Well… I accepted Jesus as my Savior when I was four. I *completely* remember the day, to this day. I was struck with my absolute sinfulness, and my complete need of Jesus, and was just weeping over it. I interrupted my preschool church teacher, and she took me on one of her knees, kneeling down on the other, and prayed with me. We were coloring a squirrel picture at the time; I hung it on my bedroom wall for a LONG time as a reminder to myself. Still, though, I didn’t get water baptized until I was 7. I think it’s one thing to understand salvation, but another thing to understand the symbolism — buried in His death, raised in His resurrection… My oldest was baptized at 8, my second son at 7. I think it really depends on the child, but I would be *really* surprised if an almost-4yo really understands what baptism is about.

    Wow, I remember “walking the aisle” but I don’t have a memory like yours of that day. That is inspiring because I know that when I have had this conversation with others, it seems that acceptance of Jesus as Savior and water baptism go hand in hand hence their apprehension or their pushing…they do not have to go hand in hand. Thanks for the insight!!!

Comments are closed.