Back in the saddle

We pretty much did the whole road trip thing last week so I did wake up this morning with a mixture of trepidation and excitement. Usually if time is skipped, the dc have brain fog and whew it can be thick like pea soup. 🙂 Today was different – hallelujah! I eased into some things and both did great and dd did wonderful on her addition. There was a mini-meltdown before dinner when I had the audacity to ask her to actually think about reading a rookie reader book by herself. I let her know I was there to help while I cooked but after 3 pages of her only, then 3 pages of us, she just decided that crying would get her out of it. I just let her put it down and later when dh came home, I asked him to go through it with her. Of course, he does it his way (read not mindful of the phonics rules and the like) so I just let the 2 of them be and she finished the book. After finishing she and ds were doodling so she spells the word smile which had caused the meltdown. What in the world?!?!? 😮

Tomorrow will be another light day as I have to tackle some things in the house and grocery shopping since we were gone for like a week. All in all, it was a good day.

4 thoughts on “Back in the saddle”

  1. AAAHHHH meltdowns! LOL! I seem to get them over copywork~and also chores from one of my middles. You sound like a great Mom! (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  2. Oh. My. Gosh. A fishing tackle box for the blocks?? What a GREAT idea!! I’ve used Math U See for ten years and never thought of that! We have ours in a big tub–always have. OH that would make things so much easier! That tub takes up a lot of room in my cabinet, too. Hmmm might need to head to WallyWorld…

  3. OH one more thing: If you haven’t already gotten the skip counting CD from MUS (I haven’t heard theirs in YEARS but I remember their old old one was AWFUL)… 100 Sheep is a really great skip counting tape/CD that you can get from CBD, Rainbow Resources, etc. I lent mine out and haven’t seen it in two years…wahhh… Professionally done songs that are based on bible stories and FUN to listen to, too.

  4. MK – the fishing tackle box is awesome!!!! I did get the MUS skip cd and it is better than it used to be as I heard the old one from another hs mom. The kids like it and is has bible songs and regular kid tunes, the kids like it. You know at some point, all kid cds can become annoying to a mom who has to hear them all the time. 😀

Comments are closed.