Skip, skip, skip to my Lou

Today we introduced skip counting and the fine art of skipping. Ds is still working on the fine art of skipping being that he is fixated with hopping on 1 foot at the present time.

So, we started reading the numbers off of the skip counting timelines that I made, we did 2’s, 3’s, 5’s and 10’s. And then we re-read Spunky Monkeys on Parade. What child doesn’t like the spunky monkey series??? This book skip counts the monkeys in the parade by 2’s, 3’s, 4’s as they do different parts of a parade. Dc are bright enough to figure out that skip counting takes less time especially when you take them through counting each monkey in the 3’s and 4’s. 🙂

monkeys.jpg

The next book was Arctic Fives Arrive. This is a 5’s skip counting book about some arctic animals that all arrive atop of an iceberg to watch the Northern Lights. I did inform them that we are not going to Alaska anytime soon to check that out even though I do miss that show Men in Trees. I love this book and not just because it was $.25 at the library book sale…okay that does influence me just a bit.

arctic.jpg

The third book was Count Your Chickens. I really thought that this book was hokie but the kids liked it…to me it is a bit dated in the picture department but there is some variety with people, birds, and livestock. It skip counts 2’s, 3’s, 5’s and 10’s.

chickens.jpg

There are a few more selections that we will do on Monday and probably take with on travel next week as we accompany dh for work.

Dd didn’t consider the skip counting fully doing math as she wanted a worksheet to complete but when presented with the option of doing one she opted to do “1” worksheet tomorrow on Saturday. I chuckled but if she really wants to do one tomorrow, I will not stand in her way.

We continued our McGuffey readers and copywork and with dh being home today when he came in from some morning errands he sat in and of course at that moment, dd couldn’t remember anything. Once again, I chuckled as I know she knows the stuff and once she shook the sillies out and stopped trying to perform for daddy, she got back to business. She is one for detours.

We also had science later in the day while we doing some yard work but that post will be later.

