Presidential Candidates – is it me??

Or do none of them have *it*…None of the Republicans impress me and for awhile I thought that Obama was interesting but his performance in the debate leaves me wondering about style over substance. I will admit that Sen. Gravel had some great zingers and you have to love someone with nothing to lose as they are capable of saying anything.

Other than that, I was less than impressed with their responses to just about everything and I just feel like is this (both R’s and D’s) the best that we have to offer???

23 thoughts on “Presidential Candidates – is it me??”

  1. Sen. Obama is so very charismatic. If only he could lean just a leeeeetle bit more right I’d be camping out on his doorstep offering to campaign for him. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Oh. And he’s from Illinois. Gotta give him points for that. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. yeah so far i’m not thrilled. there is an interesting link to taking a “quiz” to see what candidates fit you best. i will go find it and come back.

  3. Muddy Boots – you are hilarious…I think he would have to lean a lot more than a leeetle bit. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Mommy Zabs – I took the quiz and Sen. Chuck Hagel and Sen. Sam Brownback were my top 2 with 67%. However, I do not think that either will gain enough traction to be serious contenders for the R primary…I know there is still time but seriously…

    Well, that leaves me still unimpressed. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  4. This election has me rather scared. I’m with you – it doesn’t seem like there is anybody that is really that good. I’m honestly a little afraid for our country! I’ll have to go take that quiz and see what it says!

  5. I’ve enjoyed finding and reading through your blog! I’m gonna add ya to my Blogroll so I can glean from your wisdom from time-to-time…. (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  6. here’s mine
    1.hunter 82%
    2. gingrich 81%
    3. Mccain 79%
    4. Brownbeck 77%

    i was surprised that gingrich and mccain were so high. hunter, i don’t think has a chance. funny, almost everyone i know that has taken this quiz has someone on top that probably couldn’t win.

  7. Ha ha…so where does that leave us…the better candidates will not gain traction because of their lack of whatever the media has deemed important enough to cover and those that have the media coverage raise all the money but aren’t the people that many would vote for…hmmm, our system is special and I will leave it at that. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Kiva ~ Just curious as to what you don’t like with McCain. Maybe it’s b/c I’m from AZ, but I so love him. I just hate to say it, but I have concerns about him being so old. Maybe I would feel differently if I were anywhere near 70, but since I’m 33, 70 seems awfully old to be president.

    I don’t agree w/ McCain 100%, but I trust him. I trust what comes out of his mouth, and I trust his intentions.

    Off to take the quiz!!

  9. Ack! My top choice came in as Tom Tancredo. Who??? He was 81%, Mitt Romney 74%, McCain 73%. Well, IMO, there’s more to having a good president than in agreeing w/ him 100% of the time. I mean, I don’t think I would make a good president, yet I agree w/ myself! ๐Ÿ˜† KWIM?

  10. Karen,

    I am laughing that Tom Tancredo is your top choice…who??? that will be the respone of many. ๐Ÿ™‚

    As for McCain, I actually do like him and based upon the current field he would get my vote as I do think he is trustworthy and the like; however, my concern is the age. It is something about being over 70 and being in office…I would prefer a younger person…now to make a younger version of him that still is trustworthy. ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. I’m laughing at comment #11 – that’s funny! ๐Ÿ™‚

    You girls are talking about age but look at Ronald Reagan – he is considered one of the best presidents we’ve ever had by some people and he was 70 years old when he began his presidency.

  12. just took the quiz, i came up with mccain at the top ๐Ÿ™‚ a few people dislike him but I can’t seem to get any straight answer why. cool link ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. My top pick was Tom Tancredo 83%, Chuck Hagel 82% and Duncan Hunter 82%. I am really sad by our choices as well. However, God is in control and even if Hilary Clinton becomes Prez, I am confident its all apart of Gods wonderful plan. I know, using wonderful and Hilary Clinton in the same sentence seems odd. I can’t stand her or Obama. I guess I’ll have to research these name a bit more. I don’t like McCain either. He just seems shady to me and thats why my vote won’t go to him. Thats just my impression of him anyway. I thought the same of Pres. Clinton as well. I don’t know if these other guys are any better though ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  14. Michelle,

    You are in good company with your poll results based upon the quiz takers here, but I must ask what about Obama can you not stand and why McCain is not trustworthy?

    I am interested in hearing your thoughts.

  15. McCain bothers me because he seems to me to go back and forth on his issues. I was actually quite surprised when I read that he was against stem cell research (except for the ones we already have) and Pro Choice. Also, I was shocked on his views of the war. Maybe I’m mistaken, but wasn’t he against the war at some point? He just seems wishy washy to me. As for Obama, if it was between him and Clinton–I would vote for Obama. But those two seem like they are playing games with one another. I shouldn’t say I can’t stand Obama. I think he has alot more potential than even some republican, uh hum, Guliani. But in the end, he doesn’t have the moral compass that I’d like..but then again, these other guys are all kind of on the fence if you ask me.

  16. I’m with ya – Obama has this amazing, believable, trusting manner which I find remarkable coming from either party – yet I cannot agree with him on most issues. I can’t see myself voting for any of the Republican front runners at this point. A bit sobering.

    I am so enjoying your blog(s)!

  17. Michelle – interesting perspective about McCain. I think that politics and views make for strange bedfellows as a lot depends on what is en vogue at the moment. There are very few that seem to stay with their views and that does lead to confusion. I think in the end, I look for someone that will work with others as the Constitution is designed for a balance of powers so no one can run amok unfortunately I am not sure which of the current candidates fits that bill.

    FaithHopeLove – Thanks for stopping by and looking around. ๐Ÿ™‚ So, now if we could team up with some of the others and change Obama’s moral compass then we may have an actual candidate that most of us like….oh, to dream! I really do not know what I am going to do because there really is no one that I feel that great about, it is actually quite sad. Also, the money it takes to run as made it nearly impossible for those that actually have a moral compass to compete in all of the states. We shall see…

  18. I’m a Brownback girl all the way! Just dot com his last name and have a look-see. He understands the heart of the issues and is moderate on some things, very focused on others (such as sanctity of life). He understands that to fix the nation you must first tend to the family.

    Obama scares the living daylights out of me. I haven’t heard of a candidate so anti-life in a long, long time. If you can’t see your way to protecting the most vulnerable inside the womb, how will you protect the vulnerable on the outside? He’s pretty, he’s shiny and he briefs awfully well–but a deeper dig shows the rest of the picture.

    Whomever our next president is, I hope that it’s a good, God-fearing person. If we vote godless, that’ll be the end of us. (sigh)

    Love your blog! Great musings!

Comments are closed.